cracked windshields and flat tires

That’s just part of my week. Somewhere along the freeway, a rock chipped my truck’s windshield. I heard it happen but I couldn’t see where it had hit. A couple days later, I noticed two parallel cracks rising from the base of the windshield on the passenger side. They came up perfectly symmetrical and then curved together toward the driver side, one taking the higher route. After some inspection, I saw the spot where the original damage was done. A quarter size star about 1/4 or 1/2 an inch from the base of the windshield. star
Another day and a third crack had started its ascent, further away from the others, striking out on its own path. damage
Yesterday, the two twin lines intersected and the point where they crossed gave off a beautiful shimmer in the sun.

Meanwhile, the tires on the passenger side of my truck slowly began to lose air. I noticed this probably on Monday or Tuesday. I had been to the dump on Sunday so I’m thinking it might have happened there. So yesterday included a trip to Discount Tire where they repaired both tires for free (yay!). They both had small holes in them. And today, a new windshield is being installed on my lovely Lucy (that’s the name of my truck, yes I name my cars, is that weird?)

I missed Poetry Thursday this week. Not for lack of trying, but for lack of time. I started a piece while at the tire place, but didn’t finish. The rest of my evening was spent at a local bar in Carlsbad listening to my sweetheart’s rock band. It was hot but the rock was cool. Some gals from work came to the show and it was great to have them see me in that element and to have them hear the band. They seemed to enjoy themselves and the music quite a bit. After the gig, I went for the requisite post-gig Mexican food and brought it home.

I have become slightly obsessed with the new Ryan Adams album, “Easy Tiger.” Han bought it while he was on the road and I’ve confiscated it. I’ve listened to it probably 5 or 6 times already in the last two days and have bits and pieces of his words stuck in my head when I wake up in the morning. As Han said, it’s been a while since an album has really gotten stuck on us.

Leave a Reply

