musical nights

I never really think about it, because it’s just how it is, but being able to go see live music almost every night made by people I love and who inspire me is really quite something. This weekend was no exception.

Actually, the musical nights began on Thursday, with Han’s rock band playing at the Coyote Bar & Grill in Carlsbad. It’s always a fun time. They play outside on the patio where there are lots of tables with fire pits. Everyone’s always in a great mood, looking forward to the weekend. Some will occasionally get up and dance. As I said in an earlier post, some women from work came out and I liked hanging out with them.

On Friday night, the rock band played again at the Mission Bay Boat & Ski club which is notorious for cheap and loaded drinks. It’s the best kept secret in San Diego and I love hanging out there. It’s relaxed and always fun. It was a late night with a bunch of our crazy, musical friends jamming out to “Fire on the Bayou” while others were out sitting on one of the boats, talking baseball.

Saturday morning, the acoustic duo Han is in were on the KUSI morning news to promote their big show that night. We’ve been fortunate to become friends with one of the news anchors and she’s doing everything she can to help everyone get some TV exposure. It went really well. The day was spent napping and just relaxing and then it was time for the show.

When we arrived at the venue, we went through all of the preparation to get ready and they started to sound check when we realized they couldn’t do it. There was a loud rock band performing at a park right across the street and the sound just echoed into the venue. We also learned that there would be another loud band playing until 8:30 pm, an hour after Han’s show was supposed to start. Oy. But we really had no choice. There was no way that their lovely acoustic music was going to over-power the mega-amplified music from outside. There were people lining up to get in at 7 pm and we had to ask them to wait. And they did. It was incredible. This show was not just any show. It was a show to celebrate 10 years of making music together. We’d done a ton of work to promote it. And it was killing us that we might have to refund money etc.

But it all worked out. A loyal fan had brought a couple cakes for folks to have at intermission. We served it instead before the show. We had set a slide show so people could look at that as they waited. We sold CD’s and t-shirts. I think there were only 6 or 8 people who asked for their money back. Everyone else stayed and when Han & his partner,C, went on around 8:40 pm, the venue was packed front to back and ready to listen.

This music is part of my everyday life. But I still love to hear it all. They played old songs, they played new songs. They had special guests including a guy who played the tuba to back them up on one song that features tuba on the recording. C’s son came up and sang the song he wrote with him. Our friend Barbara came up and sang with them and then did one of her own songs. And then I was also a guest. And I missed my intro.

I was settling up with the venue operator for the earnings of the night. I was in a different room and couldn’t hear what was going on. I thought I had more time before I was on. I heard a lot of clapping, and wondered what that was, but kept at what I was doing. C came out to find me. I felt so horrible. C reassured me that it was fine and that they’d made it part of the show, but I felt awful and was sad that I had missed whatever Han had said to introduce me. C told me that it was more perfect than I could imagine and I felt even worse! So, Han was finishing up a song that he had decided to do when I didn’t come out and then introduced me again. We performed out piece together and it went very well. And the good news is, the evening was recorded so I’ll be able to hear what was said. It’s probably for the best anyway, I’m sure I would have cried.

Overall, the evening was just incredible. Everyone who was there was so nice, attentive, appreciative. They didn’t care that it started an hour later. They loved it. They love them and their music and to be part of that is something I often just take for granted. I mean it’s just part of my life. But it is special and magical and good.

On Sunday, it was back to the rock band and a performance out at the Ramona Country Fair. Unfortunately, I wasn’t feeling very good so I couldn’t enjoy it as much as I would have liked, but one of the best things about it all is the places we end up and the people we meet. Han & I will often stop for a moment and look around and just take it all in. I mean our lives take us from the beach bars to the Ramona fair in a span of three days with a hearty dose of radio, television and acoustic music thrown in. That’s not all the time, of course, but it’s always awesome.

And tonight, it’s my turn for the spotlight. A featured reading at the E St Cafe in Encinitas. I’ve invited people from all aspects of my life and though I’ve learned not to set my expectations too high, I hope a few of them will make it out. I haven’t done a featured reading in a really long time, I couldn’t even tell you the last time. I’ll spend this afternoon putting together what I’ll read and try to relax.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

