grey

This story is in Newsweek.  I’ve never considered dying my hair to cover my grey.  My aunt and cousin in Spain (who are hairdressers) tried unsuccessfully to convince me.  My mother has been dying her hair since her 20’s and that’s what works for her, but I just let it come. It’s defined who I am in so many ways.  I never really understood what the big deal was.

I find the article as a whole kind of annoying and representative of the biases people have over the stupidest things.  Who cares what color your hair is?  Why should it matter to a potential lover or moreso to a potential boss?  How irritating.  I guess I’ve been lucky that my having gray hair never, to my knowledge, had any bearing on being hired.

The one thing I can relate to in the piece is the part where she talks about being frumpy.  On more than one occasion, someone has asked if I’m Han’s mom.  He is a year and half older than me.  I have been mortified by the question.  It’s like asking a woman if she’s pregnant and being wrong. He tells me it’s because of the grey, but I think it’s more than that. I, of course, don’t feel ‘old,’ so I never perceive myself as looking old or for others to see me that way.  But sometimes I feel frumpy and I’m sure that comes across.

My exercising comes in cycles and I’m definitely in a down period. That’s one of the only ways I know to break out of the frump factor.  But my motivation doesn’t always match my intentions so that’s another thing to work on.

One thought on “grey

  1. The best thing is to be comfortable with who you are. Some women with black or blond hair cannot find a job or a man either. Stereotypes are not for me. Think Helen, Emmy Lou Harris…
    I, however, will stick with L’Oreal 🙂

Leave a Reply

