the celebration continues

Tonight, there will be dinner with Heather.  I’m looking forward to that as I don’t get to see her very often.  Plus, she missed the last book club meeting and then the one after that was postponed so it’s been a couple months since I’ve had a chance to hang with her.

Last night, we had dinner at Red Lobster and can I just say? The place was crazy busy.  I don’t know what was going on, but we had to eat more quickly than we both would have liked in order to get to our movie, “Dan in Real Life.”  I found it sweet, heart-wrenching and funny in parts.  Of course, I cried a little.  I could appreciate Dane Cook’s ability to tone it down. And I really like Steve Carell and love Juliette Binoche.  I thought they were great.  Han appreciated it for its artistic merits but found the relationships between ‘Dan’ and his daughters to be hard to take.  I was surprised by that but then I wasn’t.  He’s very sensitive to those scenarios.  And today I realized that it’s also the difference of perspectives.  He’s seeing it from the eyes of a dad and I’m seeing it from the eyes of a daughter.  Two totally different, yet equally valid, versions.

~~
In other news, I did purchase a copy of Love in the Time of Cholera with my 25% off birthday coupon from Borders so it was only $10.  I had something to read on my lunch break. And this morning, I got sucked into the movie “The Skeleton Key” with Kate Hudson.  I liked it because it was creepy in just the right way and kept you wondering what was happening.  After seeing it, I don’t think the title is the best for it.  Maybe “Justify” or “Mirrors.”  Not great either but more significant to the storyline.

Leave a Reply

