mist & rain, an impromptu book review, poetry accolades & life stuff

The day is shrouded in mist. I’d much rather be curled up with my new book, “Divisadero” by Michael Ondaatje, but I must persevere through the work day. I finished “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak over the weekend. I cried. It was lovely and hopeful and still sad, unrelenting in its depiction of Germany in WWII. It is known as a ‘young adult’ novel, but I was rapt with these characters. The author’s use of foreshadowing was at once anti-climactic and suspenseful. He told some of the outcomes up front and then built the story out. I was sad to learn the fate of some of my favorite characters, but was so curious to learn how it happened. And it was unexpected, which, for me, is always the best compliment. If I can still be surprised by a turn of events, the flow of a phrase, I am happy.

In real life, there is a major shift about to happen as we will be moving and in a new space on April 1st. As you can imagine, the stress that accompanies such a life change looms, but there is plenty of time to plan and I’m confident that it will all work out. Plus, it helps to know that it’s a better space. A home that’s in ultimately better shape than our current one. And of course, as we have a new place within our reach, all the negative things about living where we do now have all been shoved to the forefront: leaky roof and more rain than usual, people not seeing our driveway and parking in front of it, the noise of 2am bar-goers waking us up…But Han & I also concede that we will miss the energy of our  neighborhood.

I’m happy to say that I got two poetry accolades.  I received third place in the San Diego Writers, Ink Valentine’s poetry contest for my poem, “Twilight.”  And another poem, “Red Shoulders,” will be published in the 2008 San Diego Poetry Annual.  I’m also doing a featured reading in March and have attended three readings in the last few days.  And, probably the best news in all of that is that I’ve started writing 2 new pieces!  Yay!

On the down side, DK did not receive a part in the upcoming JT play for which she auditioned.  She was very disappointed and sad for a while.  But by the next day, she was her old self again and ready to look ahead to the next opportunity.  Very resilient.

The big show, which I referred to in the last post, went off splendidly.  My mom wrote up a nice little post about it.  It was a grand affair that, with some good help from folks, really came together.  I was so glad to be part of it again and to know I had something to do with its success.

In looking back at that last post, it’s nearly time to do a February redux!  But I’m happy to say that my parents did celebrate 43 years of marriage (yesterday) and my sister just got back from 2 weeks in the Caribbean.  Check out her trip updates on her blog.

The gym trips and and the blog posts have been fairly non-existent, but there’s always  next month 🙂

3 thoughts on “mist & rain, an impromptu book review, poetry accolades & life stuff

  1. Big congratulations to your accolades and good luck with the new poems.
    Also good luck with the moving to your new place. I hope I will have a chance to see it when I come over.
    Love Mia 🙂 XX

  2. Tu querida prima que te quiere y te admira, you have very nice poems, but I´m sorry I dont understand all the words. Love you!!
    Sonia

Leave a Reply

