missed opportunities?

Well, so much for blogging every day in May!  The funny thing is, it’s not that I’ve been terribly busy, in fact there was a stretch of about five days there when I had all the time in the world as Han was out of town on his midwest tour.  So although I had many hours to myself, not once did it occur to me to blog, or to write anything for that matter.  I’m concerned about that fact in a way because it makes me question my motivations.  On the other hand, I feel just fine that I didn’t blog or write because I did other stuff which I was happy to do.  It’s not like I didn’t blog and feel guilty about it while not blogging.  I just simply didn’t do it.  The guilt has only now become part of the equation.

So what did I do while Han was gone?  I watched movies, I read, I napped, I ate, I went for walks.  The walks were great.  I took advantage of the town where I live and the destinations I live near.  On Saturday, I walked  along a section of Mission Bay (on the map in the link, I started right around the question mark on the top right and walked down to a bit past the area marked with a “13”, then back to the start).  On Sunday, I made my way along the Tecolote Canyon trails.  I even created my own ‘walkin’ mix’ for my iPod.  The weather was spectacular and it felt good to get my blood pumping, it’s been too long since I’ve made myself work out.

After the walks, I usually took little naps, read a little bit, watched TV, checked email.  I did some other small projects, too, like putting up more posters in the bedroom so now nearly all the walls are covered (except up high).  I also did some email work to get the ball rolling to get the acoustic group some dates in Northern CA for later this year.  There were basketball playoffs, baseball games, the Preakness all to watch.  I squeezed in some movies, too (old and newer): Evan Almighty, To Gillian on her 37th Birthday, Knocked Up, Catch & Release, Grand Canyon. I’m a sucker for movies.  It usually doesn’t take much for me to get sucked in.  I also watched some shows from the DVR like CSI, Numb3rs and NCIS (love some of those crime procedurals!) Grand plans to shop a little or see a friend did not materialize, and like the non-blogging, I was okay with it.

There were moments when I thought, “Oh, I should blog about this!” like documenting my walks more in detail, but the inspiration did not strike. Does it mean anything?  I don’t know and frankly, I think I might get depressed if I pondered it too long.

Han’s tour was successful.  They went to Minnesota, Wisconsin and Illinois.  He got back on Monday and that night, we went to our friend Tim’s house to participate in a photo session for a project he’s working on called San Diego Music Couples & Families.  He took shots of me, Han & DK, then just me & Han, then just me and then just Han.  He then picked the ones he liked, did touch-ups (yay!) and sent us links.  I really like all of the shots he chose.  I’ll post the one of me here in the next post and send links to the others.  It’s a cool concept and he’s gotten some great shots of the folks in the scene who are making a go of it on the personal front, too.

So what’s on the horizon?  Memorial Day weekend.  All good.  On Saturday, Han & I will be going to hang out with some of his friends from high school.  Sadly, one of his close friends died from liver cancer earlier this year.  He lived out in Nebraska so it was hard for folks here to get out there, so Saturday there will be a party/memorial in his honor.  There’s even talk of the old high school band reuniting.  Although a somber reason to get together, I look forward to going and being around people who knew Han in another part of his life and who he still feels very connected to though he might not see them often.  The way he talks about his high school days is so fascinating to me.  He has such vivid memories of specific parties and adventures.  I do not have that.  I can’t recall stuff like that without some kind of catalyst like reading something I might have written about it.  So it will be neat to see him among these people who were more like his family for him than his actual family.

On Monday, the holiday, I will be going to Sea World with DK, a couple of her friends and one of the girls’ moms.  It’s a play date if you will and I have some trepidation about it.  I’ve met this mom once and she seems nice enough, but I have become more closed off as I’ve gotten older, less inclined to meet, mingle and small talk.  I’ll really have to work up my positivity for that experience, and try to tap into my former(?) go-with-the-flow attitude.  Wish me luck!

The last week of June will be quite busy for Han in the studio so I’ll probably have more free time than usual.  I hope to finish my book and I have one on hold for me at the library that I need to pick up.  Then you know, it will practically be summer, maybe my favorite season.  That’s always something to look forward to.

One thought on “missed opportunities?

  1. Blogging is a great way to know what’s going on with you girls 🙂
    I enjoy reading yours, just have fun with it and don’t stress about writing daily, jsut do it when the mood strikes.

Leave a Reply

