snippets

Yesterday, I scolded two teenage girls who were running and screaming through Rite-Aid.  It made me feel old and mean. 😦

Lost two more people.  Our friend, Dan Ely, passed on Friday after a short battle with lung cancer.  And on Saturday night, a guy from work was killed in a hit and run accident.  I knew him only peripherally, but he started at the same time as me and we were in the same training class.  Huge bummer.

Obama/Biden ’08

Han went to San Francisco at the beginning of the month and, among other things, got Amy Tan to sign my copy of The Hundred Secret Senses.

I did a featured poetry reading (actually a co-feature with my good friend Robt O’Sullivan) at Barnes & Noble on 9/15.  I loved our part, performing again, feeling that feeling…but then the open reading started and I remembered why I find it so exhausting.

We went to the San Diego Music Awards on 9/17.  The sound was really atrocious and none of my friends won.  I declared myself officially jaded when it was over.

I discovered Fresh & Easy.

Watched the Emmys.  Hooray for The Daily Show, the Colbert Report and Tina Fey.  I need to start watching 30 Rock.  I have no idea when it’s on.

I am going on a work trip to Iowa.  Yes, Iowa.  10/6-10/9 with 3 other co-workers.

My sister has lost almot 40 pounds.  I am so proud of her!

Approaching my favorite month of the year.  There’s just something about October: baseball playoffs & World Series, cooler weather, spirits.

I’ve started a playlist called “California Mix.”  It contains songs I have in my iTunes library that have any reference to California.  So far I have around 41 songs.  I know there are a ton that I could buy, but the other criteria is that I also have to like the song 🙂

My mother will be happy to know that I’ve re-started using my sleep machine.  I got a new mask since the other one broke.  Oh so attractive.

Han & DK are riding their bikes nearly every morning.

I’d like to see “Vicky Cristina Barcelona” and “Burn After Reading”.

Yay for new fall TV shows (NCIS, House, CSI -original and NY, Numb3rs, Project Runway)

thanks to anyone reading though I’ve been terrible at updating lately…hey NaBloPoMo is right around the corner!

One Comment Add yours

  1. redred says:

    Two things:

    First – THANKS!

    Second – what is Fresh and Easy?

Leave a Reply

