distracted by the sunset

Okay, I know, yesterday’s blog entry was lame. Consider this a make-up post.

Happy belated Veteran’s Day to all those who serve or have served.

My dad served in the Army as a young man in the mid 60s.  He did not see any combat, but he may still be considered a veteran*. I never think of him in military terms because the Army for him was not a career or anything that had a profound effect on him that I’m aware of anyway. I know that because he was in the service, stationed in Germany and then on leave in Spain, he met my mom. I don’t know if he or she or my sister know but I have the letters that he wrote to my mom when they were dating. They are sweet and romantic and seriously a trip. When Han & I moved in late March, I came across them and read a few. It was so strange to realize that when he wrote those, I did not exist. My sister did not exist. This life we know together as a family was only a possibility. There is a wonderful quality to the letters because of that optimism. And now that my dad is blogging and emailing, I recognize again that tone, his quiet, yet sensitive heart.

My mom’s voice & tone in her blog and emails are different than Dad’s. She took to the web like a moth to a flame. It was a new way for her to explore and have adventures without ever having to leave the comfort of her desk chair. She made online friends, chatted, and found a talent for graphic design. When I see some of the work she does, I am stunned. It’s so cool. She does all of my blog headers, a different design every month. I don’t have the first clue about how she does it, but she’s got a great eye for it and has won several honors in her online clubs. Her emails and blog are much more conversational, nothing too deep. Which is not to say that she doesn’t love fiercely. She does. And she’s also sensitive. Hell, we could both cry at the drop of a hat if we had to (and often do). We cry out of anger or the agony of confrontation, but also at lovely little movies or TV shows or books. At the same time, she’s also come to a point in her life when she only wishes to be entertained, to stay light, to avoid drama. Nothing wrong with that.

My sister also has a distinct voice. I’ve constantly looked up to her and admired her so much. She took to writing at a young age and I followed suit. She is a lot more consistent than I am. My journal days (or I should call them years) often have a lot of empty space between them (which was one reason I started a blog). But she writes either every night or every couple nights and it’s just cool. She also writes in her blog more (even when it’s not NaBloPoMo) and I love being able to keep up with her life in this bloggy way. We still talk on the phone and email to get details or just to connect. She’s a good soul, raising a good boy, hilarious, open-minded and brave. I’ll get to see her next week and I’m excited about that.

Wow…this entry took a whole different kind of spin than what I planned to write about, but that’s cool. All I was going to talk about before was that driving home from work yesterday, the sunset was so amazing, I found it hard to concentrate on driving and watching the road. The light blue of the sky was covered in strips and sprawls of pink-orange clouds. It looked like someone had run their hand over some sand to spread it out across the wash of sky underneath it. It was gorgeous.

I spent most of the evening getting our trip details figured out. I’m getting so excited about it! I’ll see parts of California I don’t recall seeing before (Redding, Chico) and get to spend some time in San Francisco. There will be music and relaxation, hopefully some writing, and hopefully some blog updates from the road. I’ll also take my camera, probably the new one I got from work. Oh yeah, remember when we got iPods? Well, on Halloween, for outstanding success, they gave everyone digital cameras. How awesome is that? It’s got some cool features and stuff so it might be fun to try it out on this trip.

Maybe if I’m feeling in the mood, I’ll write again later today. A two-post day, that might blow some people’s minds!

* I wasn’t sure what qualified someone to be considered a veteran so I did some searching and found the information below.  I’m pretty sure my dad fits into bullet point # 2, though I’m not sure about the 180 consecutive days part:

from http://usmilitary.about.com/od/benefits/a/vetbenefits.htm
However, in order to be considered a “veteran” for hiring purposes, the individual’s service must meet certain conditions. Preference is given to those honorable separated veterans (this means an honorable or general discharge) who served on active duty (not active duty for training) in the Armed Forces:

  • during any war (this means a war declared by Congress, the last of which was World War II).
  • For more than 180 consecutive days, any part of which occurred after 1/31/55 and before 10/15/76.
  • during the period April 28, 1952, through July 1, 1955 (Korean War).
  • in a campaign or expedition for which a campaign medal has been authorized, such as El Salvador, Lebanon, Granada, Panama, Southwest Asia, Somalia, and Haiti.
  • those honorably separated veterans who 1) qualify as disabled veterans because they have served on active duty in the Armed Forces at any time and have a present service-connected disability or are receiving compensation, disability retirement benefits, or pension from the military or the Department of Veterans Affairs; or 2) are Purple Heart recipients.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. RO'SS says:

    I also was stunned by the beauty of the sunset last night.. the scene from up here in north county was a pale near-full moon swimming in waves of pink and blue above Palomar Mtn.

    I like your image of the hand spreading the beautifully-colored sand. I would have taken a photo but the delicate color had dissipated by the time I pulled into the driveway :<

  2. redred says:

    Nice post, Lizzie. Thanks for your sweet comments!

    love you
    Sandy

  3. Mamacita says:

    Loved the post too 🙂

Leave a Reply

