the zen of Space Mountain

I missed a day! But it’s all good. 

Thursday evening, me, Han & DK drove up to LA to my folks’ house where my sister had arrived to retrieve her boy who has been here with the g’parents since early November. We hung out a bit then, Han & I went to our hotel and DK got to stay at the house.  The plan was to meet at Disneyland at 9 am to get going on the joy.

I was still pretty tired from my birthday night, which was really fun. My little tribe all came out and the music was exceptional.  I even got up and performed my part on the Cathryn Beeks Ordeal song “Rescue Me.”  It was a rush and really fun to perform in front of such an inviting crowd and knowing I was among people who care about me.  I maintained through the night, remembering to drink water between drinks.  My drink of choice was vodka/cranberry and they were tasty : )  But when the show lasts ’til 1 am and then you do the requisite curbside hangout after the gig, it means you don’t go to sleep until 3 or so.  And I had to work the next day.  I was draggin’ but managed to get a lot done.

So now it’s Friday morning, and the plan, as I mentioned was to meet at 9 am.  Well, my alarm does not go off and I wake up and see that it’s 8:22 am. Panic ensues.  It doesn’t matter your destination, when you don’t wake up on time, your day is already a bit skewed.  S, T & DK were already at the park when I called at 8:25am, just getting to the parking lot.  So Han & I rushed to get there and met up with them by 9:30 or so. Okay, crisis over, but not the start we wanted.

But then, something great happened. We got on Pirates in less than 5 minutes, and then did the same thing on Haunted Mansion, Thunder Mountain and Splash Mountain.  It was awesome!  We expected it to be insanely crowded because it was the start of their holiday decor and special shows etc.  But it stayed like that most of the day.  ToonTown is where we waited the longest, and frankly, I could have easily skipped that part, but the kids were into it so that was cool.

Then there was some downtime, for me at least.  They rode Matterhorn (too bumpy for me), then the kids did Autopia and then S & T did the submarine.  DK did rockets & S & T did the Astro Blasters. I was just waiting for Space Mountain.  I think Haunted Mansion is my favorite because it’s the one I buy into the most every single time.  And now that it’s decorated as “Nightmare Before Christmas,” it’s even cooler.  But Space Mountain is spectacular.  It’s been improved over the years and now the music, lights and build-up really make it awesome.  When I ride the other coasters, Thunder Mountain, Splash Mountain, California Screamin (in CA Adventure), I scream and love the wind whipping past me.  But I noticed that on Space Mountain, I don’t scream.  Maybe a little flutter here or there but not like the others.  It’s dark and cool and the speed is almost soothing.  I keep my eyes open and my arms up and let it take me through its curves and twists.  It’s relaxing and thrilling at the same time.  It was exactly what I needed.

From there, we went to Fantasyland where S & T rode Dumbo while Han, DK & I rode the Snow White & Pinochio rides.  When it’s not as crowded like it was yesterday, I am so much more interested in the details.  Every single thing in the whole park has a purpose, whether it’s to contribute to the magic or to just be aesthetically pleasing.  Now that we have annual passes again, I’d love to use one visit at least to just focus on those little things and the art that may often be overlooked.  Like the water fountain right inside the castle that has a bronze miniature statue of Sleeping Beauty and the Prince dancing.  Lovely.

Then it was time for Han & I to leave the group and head to his gig with the Acoustic Duo. Through no fault of our own but attributing it all to being outside the Magic Kingdom and back in the ‘real world’, things did not go smoothly.  We couldn’t find coffee, traffic was really heavy around the resort area and we didn’t have time to get anything to eat.  Once we left for the gig, about 1/2 an hour later than we had planned, we were greeted by bumper-to-bumper traffic on the freeway we had to take.  What should have been a 30 minute drive ended up being a 75-80 minute drive.  And it wasn’t just that.  It was that there was no reason.  We never saw an accident or any other kind of reason for the hold-up.  And it was the kind of drive where when you changed lanes to get into the one that was moving, it immediately stopped and the lane you’d been in starts flowing.  It made for a frustrating drive not to mention the added anxiety of knowing we would be late.

But…once we got there (C was already there), it was fine.  The opener had also been in traffic and was just getting her sound check.  We unloaded, set up and had time to spare before they opened doors. The show itself was great.  The people (in the audience and at the venue) just loved ’em.  We’ll be able to go back and play there again and hopefully start to build up a good following there.  The venue itself is really cool.  It’s an old music store and world art & artifiact museum. Lots of cool African masks, old drums and various other stuff.  I took photos of the luthier work area in the back and some of the masks and old bells and stuff that were around.

The drive back to Anaheim was way easier.  We got some fast food and watched TV until we fell asleep.

This morning, I drove back to my folks’ place to see my sister & T off.  We decided to let DK sleep in.  They ended up staying at the park ’til about 11:30 pm and they were exhausted.  So she’s asleep, my folks took S & T to the airport.  I’ll be here when they get back then DK & I will head back to the hotel to collect Han and then head back to San Diego.

My goals for the weekend are to organize myself, clean the house and do some music business work that I need to catch up on. 

And when I start to feel anxious about something, I’ll do my best to remember that feeling of closing my eyes just for a moment and taking a deep breath as the countdown begins (5, 4, 3, 2…) and Space Mountain unleashes its sleek speed and I drink in the controlled recklessness.

Leave a Reply

