for love and season

Rumi is another poet that I can’t trace back my connection to. Maybe I was given one of his books (translated) as a gift? I’m not sure, but it is, once again, something good that happened.

He has been described as an “ecstatic poet” and I always find his words full of peace, love, some mischievousness, and happiness. A constant source of looking on the bright side, of seeing the beauty of what’s before you. There were literally hundreds of poems I could choose from, but I repeatedly come back to this small piece, and it seemed fitting for the day.

Untitled
by Rumi

Come to the orchard in Spring.
There is light and wine, and sweethearts
in the pomegranate flowers.

If you do not come, these do not matter.
If you do come, these do not matter.

– from The Essential Rumi, translations by Coleman Barks w/ John Moyne

Leave a Reply

