Mama

My Mother’s Voice
– Lizzie Wann

speaking in Spanish
is a warm green salted sea

long-distance call
before dawn
to her mother’s voice
speaking in Spanish

finer things:
river blues
homecoming
and
my mother’s voice
speaking in Spanish

Happy Mother’s Day, Mama! I know I just saw you yesterday, but today is the “official” day to celebrate moms, so I wanted to do something more. I’ve always tried to make it a point to let you know how much you mean to me every time we talk or see each other, not just on days like this that were designated to give you props. You truly are an amazing person. As I’ve grown, I’ve truly come to appreciate the life path you’ve taken and so admire the decisions you’ve made. You truly changed your life! From marrying an American man and moving to the US where you suffered from a strong dose of culture shock to having your first child, then the 2nd (me!), then moving to a small Idaho town and there learning to drive in your 30s, going to college, getting a job. At the time it was happening, it didn’t seem out of the ordinary, but when I consider how difficult it probably was financially and emotionally, I am more than impressed! You took care of yourself while still taking care of me & Sandy, and keeping your marriage together. No small feat. You have always offered great advice, even when I wasn’t in the frame of mind to truly hear it or appreciate that you were right. You have a positive attitude and have a very distinct view on life and the pursuit of happiness. You’ve endured it when I poked fun at your accent with my friends and always listen(ed) when I had/have an issue. I’ve always counted myself lucky that we have such a strong relationship and that has been true ever since I can remember. I love you, Mama and thank you for letting me become who I am and for knowing that you & Dad support me 100%. I can say this without hesitation, you are the best!!

2 thoughts on “Mama

  1. What can I say? you’re right! 🙂
    I really enjoyed reading this blog, and I am very happy you wrote it. Of course I got teary, as you can understand.
    Thanks for putting your feelings into words.
    I love you.

Leave a Reply

