4th of July

one of my favorite songs ever… (this clip is just a small sample of the full song)

4th of July
– as performed by X

She’s waitin’ for me
when I get home from work
oh, but things ain’t just the same
She turns out the light
and cries in the dark
won’t answer when I call her name

On the stairs I smoke a
cigarette alone
Mexican kids are shootin’
fireworks below
Hey baby, it’s the Fourth of July
Hey baby, it’s the Fourth of July

She gives me her cheek
when I want her lips
but I don’t have the strength to go
On the lost side of town
in a dark apartment
we gave up trying so long ago

On the stairs I smoke a
cigarette alone
Mexican kids are shootin’
fireworks below
Hey baby, it’s the Fourth of July
Hey baby, it’s the Fourth of July

What ever happened I
apologize
so dry your tears and baby
walk outside, it’s the Fourth of July

On the stairs I smoke a
cigarette alone
Mexican kids are shootin’
fireworks below
Hey baby, it’s the Fourth of July
Hey baby, Baby take a walk outside

and here’s a video of John Doe performing it with my beautiful friend, Cindy Wasserman, singing backing vocals (you only see her at :40, but she’s there!)

One thought on “4th of July

  1. That is the saddest 4th of July song ever. Who knew X had such great lyrics? Okay, maybe everyone else but me. Thanks for enlightening me (again) Lizzie Wann. May your 4th be filled with many fireworks and no sadness.

Leave a Reply

