reminder for gratitude

The Rich Givers

WHAT you give me, I cheerfully accept,
A little sustenance, a hut and garden, a little money – these, as I rendezvous with my poems;
A traveler’s lodging and breakfast as I journey through The States – Why should I be ashamed to own such gifts? Why to
advertise for them?
For I myself am not one who bestows nothing upon man and woman:
For I bestow upon any man or woman the entrance to all the gifts of the universe.

– Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Well, you definately have good taste in poets! Love, love, love Whitman. Good for you posting this.

    Nice flicker photo’s, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

