Thirty-fine

Yesterday was my birthday and it was a great day!  It started in the morning with Han.  He gave me a card and a box of See’s Candies that he had hand-picked for me.  Then he gave me another card that had a gift certificate to DG Wills Books, an awesome bookstore in La Jolla.  There was a good story to go along with it.  Han got down there the night before just past 7pm.  The owner, DG, was there talking with someone and had forgotten to close up, so when he saw Han he started to say he was closed but then recognized Han and said to come in.  When Han told him he just wanted a gift certificate, he asked who it was for.  When Han told him, “It’s for Lizzie Wann,” DG said, “Wow, it’s old home week!”  When Han told me that, I couldn’t believe he remembered me.  I did a reading there, it must be 10-12 years ago! It was awesome.

So then I went to work and was serenaded not once, not twice, but six times by various contingents of my co-workers.  I got 2 bottles of wine, a gift card to Borders, a gift card to Outback Steakhouse, and various odds & ends from other people (in the bag of birthday).  For lunch we had Buca di Beppo brought in (delish!) and for dessert, a chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream cake!  Wow!  It was also another co-worker’s birthday so it was a double shot of birthday fun.

When I got home, there were beautiful flowers from Mia.  So thoughtful!  Plus a card from DK with an iTunes gift card, score!  Later DK was off to see the new Harry Potter movie and Han & I went to Red Lobster where we feasted!  As an appetizer we had lobster-artichoke-spinach dip, very decadent.  For our entrees, I had the lobster & shrimp pasta and Han got the steak & lobster special.  Both came with salads and of course, plenty of helpings of the cheddar biscuits!  For dessert, I had cheesecake with strawberries and Han the apple cobbler a la mode.  Wow!  We came home and just relaxed.  I was full and happy and fell asleep early, before DK even got home.  But it was a wonderful birthday!

And today, it will keep going!  My parents are on their way down to San Diego as I type.  They’ll be spending the weekend here which is great, but sadly, the weather is not. It’s rainy and cold here, but I hope it won’t dampen their spirits.  We’ll be heading to the Fish Market for lunch (including Han & DK).  It will be yummy!  And tonight the Acoustic Duo have a house concert in Oceanside.  Should be another great day!

One thought on “Thirty-fine

  1. The title of your post is very clever 🙂
    I am glad you had a good birthday, it was really nice to spend some time with you and Jeff. We enjoyed the trip a lot despite the rain.

Leave a Reply

