happy 2011!

There goes my goal of posting every day!  Just kidding.  The last 2 weeks of December were a bit crazy (do you expect anything less?)

DK left for Washington on Saturday, 12/18. On Sunday, 12/19, we went to San Diego Troubadour holiday party which is always a good time to see everyone from the music world in a social setting rather than at a gig.  The highlight was when Jack Tempchin asked Han to join him for a couple songs, including “Peaceful, Easy Feeling.”  It felt like everyone at the party found their way inside at that moment and sang along at the tops of their lungs.  Sublime.

On Monday, we went to the House of Blues holiday party, courtesy of Cathryn.  Han made some connections, handed out business cards.  I ate something weird, or drank some wine that didn’t agree with me, and started to not feel well at all.  Bummer.  Nothing a night of sleep didn’t fix.

On Tuesday, Barbarella came over to discuss some business with Han.  We had wine (good this time) and little snacks.   The rest of the week was filled with work and whatnot.  On Christmas Eve, we went over to Cathryn’s for a small get-together.  We had lasagna, salad, and garlic bread.  It was a nice mellow evening.  After that, Han & I drove up to La Mirada.  Oh, I forgot to mention that on the 23rd, my truck had to be taken to the mechanic.  Tranismission.  So we scrambled and rented a car and I had to wait it out over the holidays to get something going to get the truck fixed. 

   Christmas day was nice. We went over to Mom & Dad’s around 9 am and got to opening gifts, then Dad made chocolate chip waffles, yum!  Then we decided to go see “True Grit.”  We all went except Tristan and Mom.  We all loved it and thought it was a great movie.  When we got home, there were appetizers waiting, and then it was time for dinner.  Mom made cannelones and roasted chicken. It was delicious!

 

On the 26th, we went over around 10:30 am, and the other Wann/O’Dell contingent was expected around 11-11:30 am. There was some family drama which I’m embarassed to say I caused, but we worked through it and had a pleasant day.  Dad made chili for the group along with rolls, and various chips & dips.  For dessert, pecan pie!  Yummy!  After the traditional photo-taking, everyone slowly took their leave.  Han and I hit the road and probably made it back by 7:30 pm.

  

Monday, I had plans to visit with Heather, but I had to cancel in order to take care of the truck.  My friend, Marcia, helped me out while Han had sessions.  Thank goodness I had the day off.  Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, I did have to work.  On Thursday night, I got my truck back and Han went to pick up DK and brought her back here and we had our Christmas, which was good. 

Friday, New Year’s Eve, was another day off, which I spent mainly lounging and not doing much of anything.  That night, we went to Cathryn’s again.  We had ham, twice-baked potatoes, green bean casserole (Han’s), plus Oreo truffles.  Really good food.  We played Balderdash and the wine went down easily. 

 

We stayed later than we’d planned, and on the way home, stopping for a booze mop, that wine that had gone down so easily, came up pretty easily, too.  Boo.  But those rolled tacos were delicious!

I slept ’til noon on the 1st.  That was sweet.  The rest of the day, we spent cleaning up the house, watching the Rose Bowl and hanging out.  We talked about going to a movie, but the time didn’t work out. 

Which brings me to today. I’ve spent time doing laundry and thinking about cleaning, but not getting very far.  I went to the grocery store and picked out this lovely new dark wood theme for my blog.  I have mixed feelings about going back to work tomorrow.  I am extremely conscious of the fact that it’s a new year and that there should be some resolution-making, or at the very least a concerted effort to make good things happen.  You with me?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sandy says:

    Your blog feels like a cozy den where we’ll hang out and chat 🙂

  2. mamacita says:

    I like it too and the pictures, and the recap. I really like I only have to add the comment the rest is done for me 🙂
    Maybe I should go shopping too 😉

  3. Mia says:

    I really like the new look on your blog. Like Sandy says it feels cosy and homelike.
    And I love to read your recap (all of your recaps) of the holidays.
    I hope 2011 will be everything you want it to be and all that you want comes true.
    Big hugs from a very cold and snowy Sweden 🙂

Leave a Reply

