goodbye-O

I didn’t watch the last episode of Oprah. Does that make me a bad woman? Human? I like Oprah just as much as the next person, but taping her show to watch later was not a priority. The thought crossed my mind this morning, but then I was distracted by the Kasey Anthony trial and knowing that I had to get gas for my truck. I’ll catch the highlights on E! or the Today show tomorrow. I did see a bit of the show on Monday. Madonna looked awesome. The tree-planting thing was cool. But then Rascal Flatts came on and they lost me.

Some sad news. Another musician was lost. John Kuhlken. I don’t know how he died, however, he had been diagnosed with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma in 1996. He had been in remission for the last decade almost. His girlfriend, Sara Petite, another San Diego musician, only said that they didn’t realize he was sick. They had just played Pappy& Harriet’s out in Joshua Tree, and had a great time. She said that even when they went to the hospital, they didn’t know how sick he was. I can only guess that the cancer had come back. He was probably around 50 or so, maybe a little less. He had recently sat in on drums for Lisa Sanders, who Han plays guitar for. That was the last time I saw him, and he was exactly the same way he always was: smiling, happy, joking around. He was one well-loved guy. It’s tragic. And my heart really goes out to Sara for losing her love so soon and so quickly. She must be devastated. The funeral is Friday afternoon followed by a wake and ‘love-fest’ at the Ould Sod. Quite fitting.

As for what else is going on…work is very crazy. There are lots of regulations going into effect on July 1 that affect nearly everything I do so I’m working on being prepared for the changes when they come. Han is busy in the studio, plus the Acoustic Duo has their 6th studio album at manufacturing now. It will be available mid-June and the CD release will be mid-July. There are several projects I could be spending time on, but I’ve been rather enjoying not spending time on anything. In fact, I’ve kind of thrown myself into cooking and a bit of baking. I tried some new dishes last week like tomato basil salmon and parmesan-crusted tilapia. I made Thai chicken curry and baked chicken taquitos. I’ve even roasted a couple pork tenderloins with different rubs. I made chocolate chip cookies 2 weeks ago and last weekend I made pumpkin chocolate chip bars with cream cheese frosting (truly decadent). It’s been fun, and since I haven’t burdened myself with things to do in the evenings I’m able to take my time in the kitchen and have fun!

I also made time last weekend to hang out with my friend, The Becky. She and Barbara went on a European adventure so I had to hear all her tales, especially since she went to different places than I have been, and all the photos she’d posted on Facebook were amazing. It was great. We went to a little bar near my house, had a couple beers, shared some yummy tater tots and just chatted away. It was an awesome way to spend a couple hours on a Saturday afternoon.

Yesterday was my bro-in-law’s 50th birthday. Happy birthday, Marty! I hope you received what I sent to Sandy’s email!

And for those of you keeping track, yes, I’m still using the machine every night, but with the same inconsistency 🙂

One thought on “goodbye-O

  1. I’m glad you keep up with da machine. And cookign up a storm too!!! I’d love to learn how to bake yummy things 🙂

Leave a Reply

