wheels

My immediate family knows, but now the rest of you (3 people, maybe?) can know that Han & I are owners of a new (used) car! It’s a 2010 Dodge Avenger and it’s awesome. We got it at Carmax, which is like the WalMart of car dealers. That is to say, neither of us felt pressured or anything, and the price was the price. That’s it. Which was refreshing. We got it on Monday and all is well. We’ll try to sell his ’94 Ford and then he’d drive the ’99 Dakota. It’s a big relief because the Dakota was just getting too beat up with my constant driving. I’m hard on cars simply meaning that I drive the shit out of them. Han doesn’t do as much driving so the Dakota should be perfect for him. It needs a little more love (tires, etc) and it should last a while longer. Finally, I should say thanks to Grandpa Berkley. He took care of his family when he passed and we couldn’t have done this without him.

So here it is, June already. Things are going to be pretty busy. The Acoustic Duo will have their CD release show in July (8 & 9) so this month is all about promo!

I’ll be going to San Francisco for a conference for work. I’ll leave on the 12th and be back on the 14th. Then I’ll head up to see the folks for Father’s Day and to help my mom clean out her classroom after 26 years of teaching! That’s quite a career! And that’s just here in CA. She taught when we lived in Idaho, too.

I’ve put together a show called “Live Out Loud” that will happen at Oasis House Concerts on August 6. It will feature Veronica May & Lindsay White (aka The Lovebirds) and Han, and then 2 poets from Orange County, my friends Daniel McGinn and Paul Suntup. That’s going to be awesome.

Of course, I think I’ve mentioned in August, I’m going to Colorado for work. It’s shaping up to be a busy summer! Ah, summer. My favorite season. And speaking of shaping up, I think it’s about time I did some of that. It’s all about getting in exercise. My eating habits are not atrocious, though they’re not the picture of health either, so I’ll be watching that as well.

That’s all for now, just a quick bit tonight. I’ll leave you with a shot of the new wheels!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Mia says:

    Your new car looks very nice. I hope you will have a great time with it. It seems like your summer will be filled with stuff to do. I hope you will have a great time in San Fransisco and also when in La Mirada. I didn’t know you had Father’s Day now. We have it in November.
    You are so nice helping your Mom clean out the classroom. Yes, there should be so many memories for her there. She has really been great I think. She’s so good with the kids.
    We , Hasse and me, are soon on our way to a miniluxury cruise to Finland. We are actually having great weather so it should be fun.
    Take care now. Say hi to Jeff and Dakota from me.
    A big hug and kiss from me
    Mia 🙂
    Love you!

  2. Mamacita says:

    I like your post, I like the car, and I like that you want to shape up (so do I!)
    My principal said it be OK to come clean on the 18th, I spend all day today cleaning and didn’t even make a dent lol. Besos

  3. Robt O'Sullivan Schleith says:

    Hello dear friend, I popped into your blog for the first time since April and your poetry month entries which I always enjoy so much.. and was very happy to see the shiny red Dodge – a caveat, this is the most-stolen car in california just cuz its so awesomely badass looking!! so get the best alarm that money can buy! I sent you an email at cox.net and it bounced back as bad, did you get a new one and I just misplaced it somewhere maybe? love you always, xoxo

Leave a Reply

