2 degrees from Dali

I forgot to mention yesterday that at dinner with Mom I learned that Avi (my mom’s father) knew and hung out with Salvador Dali. It turns out that my mom’s uncle was a champagne dealer in Spain, I guess it was the late 40’s(?), and Dali gave the uncle (Tio Franco? – Mom?) 2 black swans that were used in advertisements. Avi became friends with Dali through the relationship with the uncle. My mom said that there used to be a picture of them together with the swans, but she doesn’t know where it ended up. I love that story!

Today went well. I helped Dad make breakfast (chocolate chip waffles & bacon), then he & I did some errands. We went to the bank, post office, to get gas, and then we went to the grocery store. It was the first time he’d been to the store since late August when he went into the hospital the first time. I was really happy for him. He had the walker and he took breaks when he needed to, but he powered through and it was awesome to see. After we got home, I did some work, got gas for Mom’s car, and then we had lunch (breaded pork with asparagus and mashed potatoes).

I came back home to San Diego and watched a couple movies, “Silence of the Lambs” and “The Hours.” Now it’s time for bed.

2 thoughts on “2 degrees from Dali

  1. So glad you had some time with your parents. Also, so happy to hear that your dad is getting around a little better. Believe me that I know how hard it can be when your parents are not well.
    Love ya,
    Frankie

Leave a Reply

