the countdown starts

That would be the countdown to 40. I’ve seen other blogs that put lists of x number of things they’d like to do before they turn x, but I thought I’d turn that around and try to come up with 40 things I’ve done in my 40 years. So let’s get started. These are in no particular order.

1. I’m a published poet – I may not be as active as I once was, but I believe my name is still known in some circles. And it’s not over. If I ever get myself a bit more disciplined about the whole thing, there could be more publishing spots in my future.

2. Flashed in public so that only one person saw – I must admit this is a unique talent of mine. It happened more than once, usually at The Ould Sod, a bar I used to frequent nearly every Wednesday for a number of years to see my friends play music. At its peak, there was no other place to be in town. It was always packed and always a good time. I stood in the middle of the bar and Han would be at the front near where the band was. And I’d do it and only Han would notice. Maybe a couple people saw out of the corner of their eye, but it was so fast they wondered if they’d really just seen what they thought. It’s a fun trick 🙂

3. Have 500 hours of massage training – I made the decision to attend massage school (Mueller College) when I was terribly depressed by my job at the time. I thought I would make a  career change. I did the classes and paid for it as I went. I think it took about a year and a half. I graduated but never took the final steps of taking the national exam and getting my license. When I really thought about the life of a contract massage therapist, it seemed like a life that I was not prepared for. But Han gets the benefits!

4. Vandalized public property – This is not one of my prouder moments, but it was so out of character, it seems worthy to include. It was in college, with a group of friends. Were we drunk? I don’t remember. We stole a piece of public art that was on a stick and stuck in the ground. It was a carving of a bird. Large. How did we get it back up to our dorm? I don’t remember who did it, but one of us called security anonymously and said where we’d put it (in the laundry room on a different floor). I also remember, around that same time, we somehow got into a building being constructed and messed with the tools and stuff. Like I said, not a good thing. I remember feeling really terrible about the bird. I’m sorry, bird-artist and construction people!

5. Owned a cat – My dear little Shug. I got her when she was a kitten, I don’t remember the year, but I was living in my apartment on 4th Ave in Hillcrest. She stayed with me until I moved in with Han who is allergic. I gave her to a nice family. About a year after I’d given her to them, they contacted me to say they couldn’t keep her anymore. We briefly thought about taking her back, but we couldn’t do it. I don’t know what they ended up doing with her, and I honestly don’t want to know. She was a good kitty, if sometimes a bit crazy. I miss my Shug.

6. Am friends with my family – I like this one. I know so many people who do not get along with their parents or siblings. I know some that do, but it seems like the majority of folks don’t get along with their family. I’m lucky that I consider most of my family, and especially my immediate family, to be friends. I like hanging out with them and catching up with them. They’re good people with good hearts. I’m glad to know them.

7. Have met 2 of my musical favorites: Lucinda Williams and Gillian Welch – I met Lu at The Mint in Los Angeles. My friend, Lisa Sanders, is friends with her and she introduced us. Lu was drunk as could be so it wasn’t the ‘dream meeting’ I might have imagined, but that’s how it is. I saw her again, although didn’t have any interaction with her, when Han & Lisa opened up for her up in Reno. They opened the show and it was awesome, but then Lu stayed on her bus for an hour or something. People started to leave and they announced that the show was cancelled. Then she came out and started playing. People slowly started to drift back in and she played a great show. It was a very surreal, rock ‘n’ roll experience.

I met Gillian after a Belly-Up show shortly after Han had hung out with her & David Rawlings up in LA with our friend, Matt. We chatted for a bit in a group with our other friends. I was a bit star-struck. Then a few days later, I decided to go up to LA to go to a poetry reading where my friend, Mindy Nettifee, was featured. It was in Tarzana and my dad decided to join me. Well, I’ll be damned but who should walk in to the reading but Gillian with Sara Watkins (of Nickel Creek). They performed a short set and for a bit of the reading, Gillian was sitting next to me! I read during the open mic and she heard me read. I think I said something about having met her recently at the Belly-Up and about Han. I have no recollection of what she said, but it’s still a great story 🙂

8. Found someone to make a life with – Of course I’m talking about Han. It’s a precarious life, not one that is rooted in routine or common things. Half the things on this list wouldn’t have been possible without him! We come from different backgrounds and have different philosophies about some things, but with other things, we are in sync. He makes me laugh every day, and his talent overwhelms me. I want so much to do whatever I can to help him, and know that he would do the same for me.

Okay, that’s all for now. More on the list tomorrow as the countdown continues!

One thought on “the countdown starts

Leave a Reply

