Who is the fool?

It’s probably me, thinking I could eat corn nuts. I was looking for something salty a few days ago & thought those would be good. Wrong. On Friday, I went to Urgent Care. 12 hours later, I was able to go home, laden with prescriptions to take care of a second bout with diverticulitis. I’ve been mostly horizontal all weekend, but this evening I feel the pain subsiding finally. I will stay home from work tomorrow to give myself one more day to recover & to let the antibiotics routine take effect.

In other news, today marks the start of yet another National Poetry Month. And with it, my extremely ambitious goal of writing a new poem every day this month. They may not be terribly long, they may not be terribly good, but it’s been so long since I’ve written anything, they’re sure to be terribly satisfying (at least for me!)

Letters in the Air

After Dad’s first surgery
As he lay in ICU with a breathing tube
He wanted to ask us how it went

To try to communicate
He used his finger as a pen
And the empty space as paper
To compose his words
Letter by letter in the air

My sister & I did our best to read them
Celebrating when he would nod ‘yes’
Apologizing when we guessed wrong
Finally giving him the answers
He seemed so desperate to know

3 thoughts on “Who is the fool?

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better and I’m glad to see you back here and I’m glad to read your poems. I liked this one!

Leave a Reply

