full-swing summer

The weather has been absolutely gorgeous in San Diego, and today was no exception. I went to a movie this morning called “Safety Not Guaranteed.” I love finding movies that are not in the mainstream. This movie starred Aubrey Plaza (from “Parks and Recreation”) and Jake Johnson (from “New Girl”). It was pretty good. I enjoyed it. I guess it was based on a real classifed ad. I liked all the characters in an off-beat way. It was a good start to the day. After the movie, I stopped at a little farmer’s market stand and bought a couple tomatoes, then went to Trader Joe’s. I should mention that I’m living the single life for 10 days. Han got on an airplane to London yesterday night. The Acoustic Duo is over there to open for Eve Selis. It’s a very exciting thing for them. I’m sure they’ll kick ass. But that leaves me with some extended time to just be. Oh, of course, if you know me, you know I have a list of things I want to accomplish in this time, but nothing I’m going to knock myself out about.

After Trader Joe’s, I came home and watched movies, did laundry, cleaned the kitchen, and did some work. Everything has been very leisurely today. I should also mention that my dad was in the hospital last week, and I had planned to go up to see my folks today. But Mom called yesterday and said that he was doing much better and that it was okay if I wanted to wait until next weekend to go up there. That worked for me.

So what else have I been doing since mid-April? In a word: working. Things at work have been supremely busy. We’re building up to something quite big that I can’t discuss. But hopefully, it will be a good thing. Needless to say, I have a lot to do, and it’s been very stressful. I try to maintain my balance, but it’s difficult. I also went to Berkeley, CA for a conference in May that was really informative and cool. The Acoustic Duo played some house concerts, one at a new place in Cardiff. Han went to Texas for a week. I didn’t really have much of a chance to enjoy the solitude because I was working every night. But since then, I have stopped doing one job for a while, so I have my nights to myself for this trip.

Also in June, I had a couple medical procedures done. The first was an ultrasound on my abdomen, and the second was a colonoscopy. Both went fine (except the night before the endoscopy, I don’t recommend it). D finished school in June also. Now she’s in the Junior Theater production of “Footloose.” We’ll see it at the end of this month.

One amazing thing I did in June was I went ziplining! My department went to San Diego Safari Park to to do it, and it was thrilling. To see photos and video, check out http://www.facebook.com/lizzie.wann.

With Han in London and also because I’ve been watching the Olympic trials, I’m getting excited for the Olympics! Plus Wimbledon! I love tennis. For the women, I’m rooting for Sharapova and SWilliams. I also like Clijsters. For the men, I don’t really have a favorite, but there are players I don’t love, like Roger Federer and Andy Murray. I’d be okay if Djokovic won now that Rafa is out. I’ll root for the 2 Americans left in it, too: Fish & Baker.

I’d like to use this time to myself to be able to relax a bit, especially with the stress at work. I’d also like to figure out exactly what the things are that help me relax, that aid my happiness. I know that may seem weird, but for the last few years (literally), I have moved through my life with nearly always something to do, something that needed to get done. Don’t get me wrong. I like that. I certainly don’t like the idea of not having anything to do, but I need to find that balance. And recognize the days when, like today, I can sit and watch a movie or two, and just enjoy it; not feel guilty that I’m not necessarily being productive. I don’t know if that even makes sense, but I know what I mean.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mama says:

    YAY, I love reading my girls’ blogs! Taking time to yourself is as important, if not more, than working or doing for others. So enjoy guilt free “YOU” time 🙂

  2. Mia says:

    I like the blog’s new “summerstyle” and happy to see you back here 🙂 I have said it before but I do really like to read your blog as well as Sandy’s and Jo’s. You are all good writers and it’s interesting and sometimes funny to read them. So I really appreciate it.
    I’m sorry I won’t be able to go to England and see Jeff but we have a full schedule already. It’s a pitty he couldn’t come to Sweden as well, but maybe next time.
    Take care, love you.
    Sending you a big hug
    Mia 🙂

Leave a Reply

