pre-fourth

I served my civic duty today. Went down to the Hall of Justice to serve on jury duty. I had been called in March or something and I rescheduled it for July 3. I was thinking, and I have no idea if this is true, that being the day before a holiday, they might not need too many jurors. Don’t ask me why I thought that to be true. But it turns out, I was right.

I switched seats about 3 different times, read a little (started a new one called “The Art of Fielding”), checked work email, texted with Han, dozed off, checked personal email, checked tennis scores, and just sat there staring, when around 11 am, before calling a single person to the court, they announced that all court calendars were clear and our service was considered complete. Hooray!

Now, part of me thought I should drive the 40 minutes to the office. Lord knows I have plenty to do, but then I told myself I’d work at home (I have my work laptop), so I went to get my car washed and detailed (minor inside work). Then I stopped at In-n-Out and went home. As I ate, I watched “Something Borrowed.” It was cute. I like Ginnifer Goodwin. I could have done without the part where Ethan (John Krasinski) confesses her love for Rachel (Goodwin). It was not necessary. Why can’t there just be a close guy/girl friendship without romance being involved?

Anyway, then I worked for a few hours, texting Han along the way. He had the day off today in Manchester and went to what he called ‘the best Italian restaurant’ he’d ever been to. Their gig on July 2 went really well. They sold 30 CDs! That’s amazing. Starting tomorrow, they have a gig every night until Sunday. I know that he’s going to get into a groove and really start to be into. Right now, he’s a bit homesick, although he’s enjoying it. After working, I watched some TV and cleaned up the kitchen. My dad called so I talked to him and then my mom for a bit. It was good to talk to both of them. Then I made some dinner and settled in to watch “The Black Swan.” Jesus, that was a crazy-ass movie. I totally get why Natalie Portman won the Oscar. Mila Kunis was great in it, too. And Winona Ryder and Barbara Hershey?!?!? I had no idea they were in it.

I should also mention that on Sunday I watched “Paul,” an alien movie with an awesome cast (Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader, Jason Bateman, Seth Rogen). I enjoyed it. I also watched “Horrible Bosses.” Another Jason Bateman movie. He’s so good!

So, I think that’s one of the things I like to do: watch movies. I like the escape of it, whether it’s in my house or in the theater.

Tomorrow is the 4th of July, and I have no plans which is exactly how I like it. I’ll try to knock some of the items off my list, and just enjoy the day off. Have a good holiday, Americans!

Leave a Reply

