Superstorm Sandy sure was a bitch! Welcome to November!

Hello friends ~ I don’t know if this is such a good idea, but I’m going to try NaBloPoMo this month.

My thoughts go out to everyone on the East Coast who suffered, or is suffering, from the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. I personally don’t have family there, but I have a lot of friends who do. The images & stories that are emerging are mind-boggling. It’s like the tsunami and Katrina rolled into one in some places. Terrible stuff.

In happier news, yesterday was Halloween, and I must say, I was damn proud of my costume. Y’know, some girls like to dress up sexy on Halloween. Me? I like to dress up as an old brilliant scientist.

Lizzie & Tessa (as Andromeda the galaxy)

My mom gave me the idea. And I must say, it was a huge hit! I had a lot of fun with it, and my co-workers seemed to appreciate it. I handed out candy last night, and the kids were so cute, mostly sweet and polite (the other few were just indifferent, not rude). I adore Halloween, and even though I was a little late getting into the spirit, I got it!

The election approaches. I’ve already mailed in my ballot. Here’s hoping for 4 more years for Obama!

Tomorrow, I’ll head up to my parents’ house for the weekend. Unexpectedly some work has to be done on our house & the water will need to be off for a day. Han will be in Las Vegas tomorrow and then in LA on Saturday, so I’ll head up to see Mom & Dad.

My friend, Flan, is a champion once again. The San Francisco Giants won the 2012 World Series, sweeping the Detroit Tigers. It has to be redemptive for Flan & Bochy who were both on the San Diego Padres in 1984 when they lost to Detroit in the World Series that year. Now they’ve won the WS for the 2nd time in 3 years (as coach & manager, respectively). It’s pretty freakin’ cool, especially since no one picked them to win it. I’m very happy for the Flan clan. Here’s a shot of him and his wife in the victory parade held yesterday.

Flan & Hot Donna

This is the month that I will also mark another year gone by. Last year we had a party and my friends chose some of my poems to read or make into songs. It was cool. Marcia’s boyfriend took video, but I still haven’t seen it! I remember it being a very special evening, if a little surreal. This year, there are no big plans. It falls on a Monday, and Han will be in northern CA the weekend before. I think we’ll try to go to dinner on Sunday night. The question is whether I go into work that day or not.

On November 15, Han, DK & I will go up to LA to see “The Book of Mormon”! That’ll be so fun. Still not sure how it’s all going to work logistically since Han will head off to Lebec after the show. We’ll figure it out, always do.

That’s all for now. Have to save some for the rest of the month 🙂

Leave a Reply

