The Story

A couple weeks ago, I went to Swedenborg Hall to make the deposit for the show we had last night for the Acoustic Duo. When I got there, the woman I met with said that a package had come for the band. I didn’t recognize the return address, someone from Virginia, but I figured it was someone sending a CD for them to hear. It happens. When I got home, I showed it to Han and then opened it. Inside was a small paperback copy of the New Testament with a note inside that read:

Hello,
Trust your fathers teachings Han*. God does not lie. I’m doing well. I’ve quit drinking, I’m the closest I’ve ever been with my family, and I’m even supporting myself for the first time in my life. God indeed has given me many blessings including the faith of endurance.
Steve

*used his real name
Okay. Weird, right? Yes. But, we didn’t really think much about it. Being in the public eye sometimes invites some strange things.

But then.

Earlier this week, I got a similar package delivered to me. At work. Inside was the same New Testament. The note read:

Dear Lizzie,
Trust the only living and true God. Nothing else.
Steve

Now I was creeped out. I have been extremely careful to not list or say where I work, especially in relation to the music world. The only place he could have possibly found it is on LinkedIn. But that would require some work on his part. WTF? Then I remembered that a couple years ago, our friend, Barbara, had a package sent to her at a house concert that she was playing here in San Diego. We were all there when she opened and it was all really random stuff. I texted her and asked if it was the same guy. She responded back immediately, “Yes. What has he done now?”

I explained what had happened, and she said she would let her detective know. Yes, detective. The story is she knows him from when she lived in Virginia and he has been harassing/stalking her for the past 10 years or so. He claims he loves her. After the house concert package, she contacted a detective in VA to help. She said that things had settled down since then, but that he sometimes would harass her friends. I guess Han & I were next on his list. So I had to send her all the details including the postmark, return address, and what the notes said.

So that’s The Story. There’s not a whole lot I can do about it. But damn, that is some weird shit.

3 thoughts on “The Story

  1. Weird is right, but at least the comments are somewhat mild rather than threatening, but it’s strange somebody unknown to you would go to all this trouble.

  2. Creepy is the word! I hope you don’t hear from him again.
    But I saw something interesting in what you wrote. You said you went to Swedenborg hall. Is that in any way related to something Swedish? Swedenborg is a Swedish name and it means the country Sweden, of course, but the last of it – borg – means castle.
    Interesting to know if there’s a connection 🙂

Leave a Reply

