holiday

Today in the USA it’s the Thanksgiving holiday. Like Easter, it is a movable feast, the 4th Thursday of November. For the majority of Americans, it is a day (or weekend) for families to travel great & short distances to be together and to have large quantities of foods that have become traditional staples of the day.

My family? Well, the getting together part isn’t that new since I’ve been visiting every other weekend for the last year and a half or so. And the large quantities of traditional foods? Not so much either. You see, the traditional Thanksgiving is turkey, stuffing, green bean casserole, sweet potato concoctions, and pie. Well, pie was on our menu tonight. My mom made a special pecan pie, half with pecans and half without since I can’t eat nuts. Nice! For dinner we had filet mignon and mashed potatoes. Plus Dad whipped up some of the best garlic mayo ever! A couple hours before that we had a variety of appetizers, Spanish meats and cheeses, some cheese puffs (with gruyere) from a cool bakery, some tarts filled with feta and topped with caramelized onions. I had my holiday Coca-Cola, too!

But the main point of this holiday originally was to celebrate a bountiful harvest and it has evolved into being thankful for what you have in your life. That’s a wonderful sentiment. I feel like I try to be thankful every day for something at least. Some days are more difficult than others. But I’ll play along and say that I’m thankful that my immediate family members are all still with me. Last year around this time, before we knew what was happening with Dad, we weren’t sure how long he would be around. I remember talking to a co-worker who was giving me a ride (it was also when I was having serious issues with my truck) and she said, “I bet you’ll be having Thanksgiving with him again next year.” When she said it, I so wanted it to be true. And now here we are, and I couldn’t be more grateful that her words were true.

Also, my sister had major surgery in August for her knee. Thankfully, too, she just had her 3 month follow-up and everything looks great. Pretty soon(?) she’ll have the other knee done!

My mom continues to be solid as a rock. I can’t express how thankful I am that she is able to care for Dad. I know it’s a tough thing to handle day in and day out, but they make it work and she continues to keep her humor.

Han may not be related, but everyone knows we are in this thing together. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

And D. She is blossoming into a savvy, bright, and vivacious woman. It’s so awesome to see.

Hope you all had a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

