2012 wrap-up

Well, I must say my blogging this year was pretty atrocious. Except for my valiant effort in November (28 out of 30 days), the rest of my posts for the year add up to just 17. Pathetic. So I’ll try to recap my year here, because there was stuff I did, I just didn’t document it here.

January: The big news of January was my dad’s surgery. It seems like so long ago, and although the result was not what we had expected, it’s been okay. My mom also bought Lulu at the beginning of the month. 🙂

Lulu_puppy

I went up to San Francisco and Napa to see Han play with Flan. One of the shows, Bob Weir, of the Grateful Dead was a guest and Han got to play percussion with him and also guitar (on “Friend of the Devil”). It was a big moment for Han, and I’m glad I was there to see it.

February: My first cover story for the San Diego Troubadour was published. It was about the Lovebirds. My dad was released from the hospital and stayed for a couple weeks in a rehab facility. At the end of the month, he was able to go home. At the Oscars, “The Artist” won Best Picture. I still haven’t seen it.

March: Ever since my dad got sick (August 2011), I’ve been trying to go up to see my parents about every other weekend. When Han is on the road, I’ll usually go up, too. I went up 3 weekends in March, one of which, my sister came down, too. I also had my first mammogram. We lost our friend, Eric Lowen, to ALS. And I got diverticulitis (2nd time in as many years) that took me to Urgent Care for about 12 hours. 😦

April: Since it was National Poetry Month, I attempted to write a poem a day. I think I got 4 poems in and that was it. I did attend a publication party for a book called News Clips & Ego Tripsan anthology of the best of Next…Magazine, a poetry ‘zine I contributed to in the late 90s. Sandy went with me to the reading that was in a funky bar in Long Beach. The Lovebirds released their debut CD (recorded by Han) called “Nutsy Pants.” I traveled with Han and the Acoustic Duo to Santa Barbara for a gig they had up there.

May: I went to La Mirada then joined the Acoustic Duo for a house concert in LA. I traveled to Berkeley for a work conference. The day before I left, we had a fairly large reorganization in my department which meant several people were let go. It sucked. D was in a performance of Peter Pan for Junior Theatre. Han traveled to Texas to do some recording with Barbara and also for the Acoustic Duo to play the Kerrville Folk Festival. I also cut my hair!

hair_May 12  haircut_May 12

June: I went ziplining! At the San Diego Wild Animal Park. It was awesome!

ziplining_June 12

 

I also had some health appointments: I had an ultrasound on my abdomen (beginning signs of a fatty liver), and I had a colonscopy. Everything’s fine down there, but the prep for that procedure is god-awful. We went to a ‘songwriting sleepover.’ The Acoustic Duo were guests in the morning (no camping for us!)

July: The Acoustic Duo went to England! I had jury duty. The AD had gigs in Burbank & Altadena. The Olympics started. D was in a performance of Footloose at Junior Theatre.

August: Went to Disneyland for 2 days to celebrate D’s 15th birthday with Han’s sister and nephew. From there, Han went to Las Vegas and I went to La Mirada. D went up to Washington with her aunt & cousin. Spent a week in Utah with my sister to help her after she had a total knee joint replacement. That was a great week.

September: Attended a wedding for a friend from work/music world. Got a nice photo with Han:

11

The Acoustic Duo performed the National Anthem at Petco Park before a Padres game.

Event_Pre_Game_Rockies_091412SW031

I attended Matt & Joey’s surprise(!) wedding where Jeff was the officiant.  They had a photo booth.

L & J 3

I did a featured reading at Upstart Crow Bookstore. And then there was “O Berkley, Where Hart Thou?” It was triumphant!

finale_2012  me_BH

October: My second cover story about Sharon Whyte was published in the San Diego Troubadour. Han & I took an epic road trip that has been chronicled here and here. We started recording the Sordid Tales Podcast. I had a fantastic Halloween costume.

Einstein

And the San Francisco Giants won the World Series. Here’s a photo of Flan and his wife, Hot Donna, in the parade 🙂

Flan & Donna
Flan & Donna

November: The Acoustic Duo had a great show at Swedenborg Hall. Han, D & I went to see “The Book of Mormon” in LA. I flew up to San Francisco and joined Han for some dates with Flan. I turned 41. Spent Thanksgiving with my parents.

December: I had a featured reading in Escondido at my friend, Robt’s poetry series. Had dinner at Mr. A’s with a duo who had completed their record with Han. Dad went back to the hospital for a few days but is much better now. Put together a small chapbook called Poems for Euterpe with all the poems I’ve read aboard the Star of India for Flan’s annual show. Went to La Mirada for Christmas and Sandy, MT & T came, too. Sandy, Jeff & I handled Christmas Eve dinner for all the family. It went great. Christmas was awesome, too.

familia  JB, me, Sandy, MT  Mom, Dad, T  Wann sibs

This weekend, I plan to get the house cleaned up, relax some, and gear up for 2013. On New Year’s Eve, the Acoustic Duo will be guests of Steve Poltz for his show at the Casbah. It should be quite the party!

These have all been personal reflections, certainly not a recap of the year in social or political issues. There are plenty of things that happened that will impact history (the presidential election, Superstorm Sandy, and the too many mass shootings to name a few). Even though these things are part of my world, the reflection of them are for someone else’s blog.

I’m not sure if I’ll get the chance to write again before the new year, so if not, see you next year!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “2012 wrap-up

Leave a Reply

