Blazing Laptops and betterment

I missed blogging yesterday, but after writing for 9 hours straight, the last thing I was thinking about was jumping on my computer when I got home!

Yesterday, I took part in Blazing Laptops, a fundraiser for San Diego Writers, Ink. The deal was to get people to sponsor you to participate in a 9-hour writing marathon to raise money for SDWI as they prepare to move into a new space. When I saw the announcement about a month ago, I jumped on it. I decided to raise $500. I was worried about asking people for money, but I figured I might as well try. Not only did I raise the $500, I exceeded it! I think my final total was $705! I had different donation amounts with ‘prizes.’ Three people donated at the level where they will receive a personalized poem from me. I worked on those yesterday. I also responded to one of the prompts they gave us. But mostly I worked on transcribing audio files of the book project I’m working on with Barbara. I got a lot done, but there’s still a lot to be done, but at least I feel like I’ve done something with it! My friend, Amy, from work was there, too. That was cool. Strangely, the time really seemed to fly by. They fed us and had massages for us and really kept the day moving. I didn’t really meet anybody new, but it was still good to be part of that energy of writers, all working away at their novels or stories. I don’t know that there were any other poets there. I will become a member of SDWI, too. It’s only $35 a year! What a bargain!

Now to the topic of betterment. I’ve been thinking on this topic for a while. I mean, lately I’ve been getting up and thinking, “What can I do today that will better either myself, my community, my family, or my career?” Even if it’s one thing, every day, that you can look at and say, “Doing/saying X made Y better”? That’s pretty cool.

For today, I’d say that finishing The Fault in Our Stars made me better. That is one amazing book and story. So beautifully written, so romantic, so honest. I was a blubbering fool at my desk at lunch, couldn’t help it.

What have you done today to better yourself, your community, your family, or your career?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sandy says:

    I knew you would love the John Green book!

Leave a Reply

