summer is here

I don’t know why people get so surprised. Summertime heat always hits San Diego in August & September. It’s hot, humid, and heavy. Thunderclouds billow and threaten but never come through.

I am beyond excited because tomorrow my sister comes to visit. Last year at this time, I went to visit her in Salt Lake to help her as she recovered from her knee surgery. I don’t remember the last time she was in San Diego. She’ll fly in to SD, then we’ll drive up to LM to hang with the folks for the weekend. Then we’ll come back here for Monday afternoon through Tuesday night. Yay!

It’s US Open time 🙂 It’s Labor Day. It’s all good.

Since I last wrote, there’s been some fun. Han & I got tickets to see Willie Nelson courtesy of Mickey Raphael who played harmonica on Flan’s record. Flan asked him to put us on the guest list, and he did! The show was at Humphrey’s, and it was a beautiful night. Willie is 80 years old, but he is still doing his thing. His guitar playing isn’t as sharp as it once was, and he has to adjust the notes to allow his voice to do it, but man, to hear songs like “Help Me Make it Through the Night,” “Crazy,” “Good Hearted Woman,” “Always on My Mind,” and “On the Road Again,” plus a host of Hank Williams covers, songs from Teatro, plus new songs mixed in with classics such as his ending “Will the Circle Be Unbroken” which led into “Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die.” It was awesome. Sadly, though, our dreams of being invited on Willie’s bus didn’t come true. Maybe next time!

Another things was D turned 16! We went out to dinner for Italian with her mom, grandma, and 2 of her friends. She was gifted with a car for her birthday. She has her learners permit, and will have her license in January. Wow. She’ll start school soon, her junior year.

That weekend (8/9-11), my dear friend Barbara was in town to do her CD release show for her 3rd solo record (recorded with Han). We went to dinner in OB on Friday, which was awesome. On Saturday night, she had her house concert. This venue is spectacular with an amazing view of the Pacific. Then on Sunday, it was back to OB for a more casual afternoon show at a local bar. Lots of friends came out and played some songs and hung out. It was really wonderful to see her. She’s doing her CD release in Austin in September, and Han is going out for that. They’ll have a blast!

The next week was pretty mellow. There was a day in there when I simply had to completely check out. I was really tired. I took the day off, and slept til 2 pm. I was up for a few hours, then went to bed at 9 pm and slept ’til the morning. I needed that. The weekend took me up to LM to hang with Mom & Dad which was super relaxing.

On Monday, August 19, Han was part of a show at the Lowell Davies outdoor Shakespeare theatre in Balboa Park, It was a tribute to Jeff Buckley. There were several amazing artists, several friends (many of whom were one and the same). It was wonderful. Han killed. He did “Conversations with the Moon,” then Buckley’s “The Last Goodbye,” then Dylan’s “I Shall Be Released.” The show was remarkable, the venue stupendous. It was a fabulous night!

On Tuesday, I went to Rebecca’s for their open reading which was fun. My friend, Lindsay, couldn’t make it, but I didn’t want that to stop me from going. I still enjoyed it. And on Wednesday, I went to Upstart Crow in Seaport Village for that open reading. I absolutely love that bookstore. It’s so cool.

I don’t remember what happened on Thursday, but on Friday, I went to a local coffee shop, Bay Park Coffee, and did some writing while Han was at a rehearsal. That felt really good. The coffee shop was super cute. I’ll definitely go back.

On Saturday, I had acupuncture (divine), then Han & I went to Liberty Station where he was performing as part of ArtWalk. It was a lovely day, and Liberty Station is the new happening place in town. It’s good for big events, but there’s also restaurants, grocery stores, and that’s where the new San Diego Writers Ink is located. It’s awesome. The gig was great, and it was nice to be outside in the sun. That night, Acoustic Duo had a house concert right near our house, which was convenient. I hadn’t been to a show in a while, and it was nice to hear them again. And the audience loved it!

On Sunday, we watched the Little League World Series. San Diego’s own Eastlake All-Stars represented the West all the way and won the US Championship. In the WS finals, they were up against Japan. It was a good game, but Japan prevailed. Still, US Champs is nothing to sneeze at. Those kids did good!

This past Monday, 8/26, Han & I went to dinner (Banbu Sushi – yum!) with Cathryn & Jonny then decided to go with them to see Heart. Totally random, right? I used the hashtag SummerofOldRockStarsConcerts on a post on Facebook. Ann Wilson is 63, but she can still sing. It was an awesome show actually. You don’t realize how many songs you know. “Barracuda,” “Magic Man,” “Crazy on You,” plus their cheesy 80s tunes “Alone,” “What About Love.” But their ‘encore,’ brought back their opener, Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Experience, and they did 5 Led Zeppelin songs. And they did them justice. They did “Battle of Evermore,” “Immigrant Song,” “The Rain Song,” “Kashmir,” and “Stairway to Heaven.” It was enjoyable. And another random note? Han knew the bass player, Dan Rothchild. They went to high school together. He called him before the show, but didn’t hear back. Still, wow!

Tuesday night, we drove D up to church in Carlsbad, then drove home down the coast. It was beautiful. We had dinner from the new Five Guys that just opened. It was good!

Last night, Han had a gig at a new venue downtown called Frauds & Swindlers. I didn’t go because I had errands to run after work. I watched tennis and played too long on that damn Candy Crush Saga game!

Tonight, he’s out doing a writing session, and I’m finally catching up on my blog! And now you’re caught up, too. I’m sure there’ll be more to tell after Sandy has been here! So looking forward to it! Enjoy your Labor Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

