Sun, silver linings, slam

I went for a walk at Mission Bay today. It was breezy but so gorgeous. I am tragically out of shape. I’m going to try to walk at least twice a week, even if it is just 10 minutes at lunch.

I picked up sandwiches for lunch (I had the day off for Veterans Day). Han & I hung a little bit, then he went back to work. I finished reading Silver Linings Playbook. I liked it a lot & will now watch the movie at some point.

Now I am at the North Park poetry slam. I came to it in October & actually slammed for the first time in too long to remember. There were only 5 slammers, but the room was full paying audience members. Long gone are the days of trying to explain slam to people. The demo is young, urban, and socially conscious. All of them very good at performance if slightly heavy-handed at times. Plus the typical format gets tiresome (start slow, build, build, increase volume & speed, slow down, lower volume). But I went for it, having nothing to lose. Out of 5 people and 2 rounds, I came in 4th (the 5th person didn’t do the 2nd round). No big deal. My poems have never been typical slam poems & while my performance style may seem radical to a bunch of 50 & 60+ years old ladies, here it was nothing interesting plus I have never completely gone off page which is less impressive than having it memorized. But everyone was extremely kind & supportive. It’s not like I got laughed off the stage, but I did realize that my slam days are over. So tonight I’m a spectator, at least for a while. Gets me out of the house for a couple hours.

Tomorrow it’s back to work & the countdown is on for the big show on Saturday night! The Acoustic Duo us recreating The Band’s The Last Waltz. Should be amazing!

2 thoughts on “Sun, silver linings, slam

  1. It looks like you had a nice day, and yes I agree we all need to do a little more walking/exercise..sigh…
    I’m glad you did the slam, I am not so crazy about it, prefer the type of poetry you excel at 🙂

Leave a Reply

