a night in

I’m making lasagna. I browned some ground beef along with some ground Italian sausage with some onion and garlic. Added some dried basil and oregano. Simmered two kinds of sauces, a traditional marinara and an organic puttanesca, with mushrooms. I added the meat to the sauce and let it simmer some more. Then I mixed shredded mozzarella, ricotta, asiago, and an egg together. Then it was time to assemble. Sauce, noodles (I use no-boil), cheese mixture. I use my hands to spread the cheese along the noodles. It’s easier. Then another layer: sauce, noodles (alternating how they were placed in the first layer), cheese. And another: sauce, noodles (alternate placement), cheese. I top that with the remaining sauce mixture, more mozzarella, and parmesan. Cover with foil and bake at 365 for 45 minutes. After that, I’ll remove the foil and bake it another 15 minutes for the cheese to get all crusted up and delicious.

While I made that, I had the movie “Misery” on. What is up with my horror movie fascination lately? Not sure. But that’s a good one. Kathy Bates is deliciously creepy. Speaking of which, I think I’ll turn on my recorded episode of tonight’s American Horror Story: Coven. That is a crazy-ass show, but I really like. The weird twist is that it’s created by the same guy who created Glee. Such a different show!

The reading last night turned out to be awesome. Some great readers and a wonderful sense of community. Jim really does a good job of making that happen. The feature was Reg E. Gaines. He is the Tony-nominated lyricist for Bring in ‘da Noise, Bring in ‘da Funk. He was awesome. His whole performance was like jazz. At the end of the night, he hugged me and gave me a cheek kiss. Also there was Ant Black, a member of this year’s San Diego slam team that placed 4th in the National Poetry Slam finals this year. He’s a good guy, a great poet, and a wonderful entertainer. There were some cool women from Page to Stage. It was good. I may have found a “home” reading. Plus it’s at a cool place. A little middle eastern cafe/restaurant. I enjoyed some hummus and warm pita bread and an iced mocha. Tasty!

Three days until the show. I’m getting really excited about it.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sandy says:

    Lasagna is good. I never thought of alternating the noodle placement. I’ll try that next time. Plus, I never make enough sauce so mine always seems kind of dry. Your post made me want to cook!

  2. mamacita says:

    I have never made lasagna! Seems like alot of work 🙂

  3. Mia says:

    It sounds really good and a little different from the one I do. I do a bechamel sauce and add cheese to that and I have bacon where you have sausages but I think both of them are delicious 🙂 Yes, it takes some time to do but it’s worth it. Don’t you agree Lizzie?

Leave a comment