work, kitties, writing

This morning I got up early to prep enchiladas to eat tonight because I knew I wouldn’t be home until later (also why I made the pies on Sunday).

I also had to go to work early since on Monday, I volunteer and have to leave early. Getting at work at 7 am is something else! It felt good, but getting up at 5 am didn’t.

Work was busy. There’s a lot going on, unseasonably so. Makes for stress. But then, at 3:15 pm, I went to the cattery 🙂 There were 13 cats in there today, but about 5 of them had just been checked in that day and one of the people told me to just leave them alone. There were some cats from last week, most notably, Mama. She was again a sweet lovebug. There was also a big ol’ boy named Parker who just loved to roam around. I had a few hissers today. One of them, Zorro, I didn’t even open his door. I just stuck the feather through the cage. He growled the whole time. He batted at the feathers, but he just seemed pissed. It’s just silly that this counts as volunteer time! They said at some point, I can switch to dogs if I want, which I may do later, but I’m good with the cats for now.

After that, I headed to a coffeehouse to meet my friend, Lindsay, for the first of our monthly writing sessions. Independent writing, but we just wanted to carve out time to work on whatever we needed to. I’m picking the places. I’ve made a list of coffeehouses that are open late. Tonight’s destination was called The Coffee Corner in Linda Vista. The place itself was cute, kind of tucked away, but the girl who worked there and a couple of her friends were so loud, it was obnoxious. Besides us, they were the only people there, so it was very obvious. Weird. But I had my headphones, thankfully. Lindsay didn’t. But I transcribed more recordings and she worked aon a flier for her band. She didn’t get any writing done, but that’s okay. It’s just about giving ourselves time to work on stuff we don’t get to otherwise. I also read some of my book, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I finished Silver Linings Playbook  in a hurry. I also recently read Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness and You Take it From Here by Pamela Ribon. My Books page has been sadly neglected. I’ll try to throw these up there, and whatever else I can remember reading this year. I guess that’s a good thing about the Kindle, it’s all there! I wonder what I’ll get next? I have the $50 gift card from Han 🙂 Maybe the new Amy Tan?

Tomorrow is the potluck at work so I’ll have a verdict on the pies. Han & I kept the apple/peach one, and it was good.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mamacita says:

    Looks like you had a full day! 🙂

  2. Sandy says:

    I like that you and your friend are getting together to hang out and write. Hissing cats are no good.

Leave a Reply

