December days

The work stuff went off pretty good. It was very high-tech. We were all using a chat feature so we could talk back & forth while different sites deployed and we checked them to confirm they looked good. It took about 2 hours so it was a late night. But everyone was happy with everything the next day.

On Thursday, I roasted a tri-tip for dinner and we had sandwiches. It was pretty good. We were both pretty tired so didn’t do anything else that night. On Friday, I made little mini-meatloaves. Really like a glorified burger, but they’re baked. They weren’t bad. During the days both of those days, I just worked. Nothing real exciting. Preparing for that one employee to leave, and then another one is on vacation all this week. Sometimes it sucks being a boss.

On Saturday, I lounged about in the morning, then headed to acupuncture. The weather was cool, and I’d woken up with a back ache so I was looking forward to getting the work done and just relaxing. When I left, feeling rejuvenated, it started raining a bunch! I went home and made sausages with peppers & onions. They were tasty. Han had a gig, but I didn’t go. The duo were guests on another band’s holiday show. I went to the store for a couple things, and I had grand plans to prepare for my reading coming up, but instead I did laundry, played games on my phone and finished my book, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. It was a sweet book, told all in letters. I thought that would get annoying for a whole book, but I got over it. I did make some tuna helper for Han to have when he got home, or to have for lunch this week.

Today, I got up early and finished up the laundry, went grocery shopping, then headed up to Escondido to a poetry reading that a dear friend of mine runs. Unfortunately, he had to work, so he wasn’t even there! I almost left, but they said he’d be back at the end to tear down, so I stuck it out. You know, people are nice, but there is no scene in the poetry world. Everyone is in their 60s or higher and most folks just write poetry as a lark. The real scene is with the slam folks, but that’s all they do, slam and slam style. What’s a girl to do? I enjoy reading my work, I enjoy writing (when I can get it to happen!), people seem to enjoy hearing my work, but then what? I need to look into getting more publication credits, but there are SO MANY journals out there, I really have no idea where to start.

Anyway, I did get to see my friend, and he said he was coming to see me on Friday, which is great. He’s busy busy busy with his job, and rarely gets down to SD so I’m glad he’ll be able to be there. We’ve been friends a long time, and we have very similar thoughts on the ‘scene’ as it were. He’s one of the good ones.

Now I’m back home. Han started with a new client yesterday, and they’ve been here today since 10 am. It’s now just after 6:30 pm, and they’re not done yet. Long day for him. I’m going to attempt sweet smothered pork chops tonight with green beans & tater tots. The pork chop recipe is one from our friend who’s from Lafayette, Louisiana. I’ve made them once or twice before, and they were okay.

I’m not going to complain about the weather, because seriously, there is not one thing to complain about. Hell, I wore my Birks all day. All I’ll say is there’s a chill in the air that is welcome to many San Diegans, including me, and that’s good enough for me. I do not envy my sister who woke up to 6 inches of snow. (Sorry, sis!)

Here’s to a great week!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sandy says:

    Big snow and don’t forget the frigid temps!

Leave a Reply

