happy birthday, Mama!

This year, like my sister also confessed, I haven’t been too into Christmas. I think mostly because since the summer, I’ve been planning a surprise day for my mom’s 70th birthday. Now it’s all come to fruition, and I couldn’t be happier.

My sister has described the day very well. But it all started back in July, I think, when I got the idea for the elements. Having Sandy here was a must. Now that Dad has been feeling better, relatively, a day trip seemed the most feasible. Mom has repeatedly talked about going to the Getty Museum. Then, lunch seemed reasonable. Having T be here, getting a driver, and then having the surprise party at the house were just bonuses that dovetailed perfectly.

Although the idea was mine, the day couldn’t have been pulled off without Sandy, Dad, Tristan, and my mom’s friend of 32 years, Norbert. He went over to the house while we were away and helped my dad get the house ready for the guests. Dad also came up with what we’d feed everybody and took care of all that. Sandy did the inviting, which included trolling Mom’s FB account and sending a private message to one of the teachers for help in getting other of  her school friends to attend.

Simply put, the day was magical. The hardest part was getting her ready for the 10 am pick-up, but some quick thinking and some good acting by my dad saved the day. It was so lovely to see my mom so happy, so pleased, once she realized what was happening. Believe me, she didn’t like the not knowing part, but that soon faded as the day progressed, and of course, now that it’s over, she’s beyond happy. It’s too bad that MT & Han couldn’t make it. That really would have been everyone!

It was really important to me that she realize how much she is loved by not just me, but by her friends and her family. She has done so much for me personally, and for dad, and Sandy. And she’d do more if she could. As I said to my dad one morning on the way to dialysis, if we pulled this off, it would be epic. And I think it definitely was.

So today being her actual birthday, I just want to say how much I love you, Mama! Happy birthday!

me_mom_Getty_2013

2 thoughts on “happy birthday, Mama!

  1. Thank you sweetheart! I had a lot of fun, you organized it beautifully and everything was just perfect. I wouldn’t have change a thing. It is a day that will be among my most treasured memories. Love you very very much! and I hope you feel better! 🙂
    Mama

Leave a Reply

