walking, unsubscribing, and Philip Seymour Hoffman

After work today, I went for a walk. It’s my usual day to see the kitties, but I got all the way up there only to learn that there were no kitties! I told the supervisor that I’d be willing to train to learn how to work with the dogs, but that wasn’t today so I went home. The walk wasn’t particularly long, about 20 minutes, but I walked down and then up one of the hills on a neighboring street, which was tough, but I just took small steps and remembered to breathe. I also remembered that I’m 42, haven’t worked out seriously in about a year probably and that I needed to take it easy on myself. It felt good. It was a cool evening, the sun was setting, and I was moving my body. Good start. Now to do that a few times a week!

Lately, I’ve realized that I get a lot of superfluous email. Sure, they’re from companies I gave my address to willingly, but I’ve realized that I just end up deleting them without even reading them at all. So I’ve started to unsubscribe. It’s great! Being in marketing, I know how much they hate when people unsubscribe from mailing lists, but I kind of like it even more that I know what’s behind it.

Overall the weekend went well. Han had a gig on Sunday before the Superbowl that had about 100 people at it! He said it was great, and I was so pleased for him. I recorded the game, and we watched it when he got home, both have abstained from Facebook, TV or radio so as not to know the outcome. The Broncos had their asses handed to them and were simply outplayed by the Seattle Seahawks. There were some interesting commercials, but none that really struck me, although I do keep thinking about the Bob Dylan ad.

But the bigger news for me yesterday was learning the news of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s death. An ugly death. The kind that he might have portrayed in one of his movies. A little over a year ago, I saw one of his movies in the theater. Here’s the post about it. He was one of a kind as an actor. What I had never really thought about was his age. I was a little surprised to learn he was in his forties, just like me. He was from my generation. In reading some of his quotes on imdb.com today, and of course in knowing the outcome of his too short life, they seemed a bit sad, deliberate but tinged with a bit of melancholy. But maybe I’m putting that where it’s not. He had a long-time partner with whom he had three kids. I’m sad for her and for the kids. I wonder where they were when it happened.

In looking over his filmography (over 60 acting credits), there are a few that I saw, and it’s true what I said in that post in 2012: I haven’t seen many of his movies, but I’ve liked him in everything I saw: Leap of Faith  with Steve Martin (one of his first roles), Boogie Nights, The Big Lebowski, Along Came Polly, Synecdoche, New York, Doubt, Pirate Radio, A Late Quartet, and so many others that I haven’t yet seen. But I will always think of him as Lester Bangs in Almost Famous. The local journalist (Bangs was born in Escondido) who befriended Cameron Crowe as a teen who was just getting into rock journalism. Hoffman was incredible as Bangs and is just another reason why I think that’s one of the most perfect films ever made.

May he rest in peace.

 

One thought on “walking, unsubscribing, and Philip Seymour Hoffman

  1. Our minds must be linked! I went for a walk on Sunday and I agree that it felt great to get out and move around. I am also unsubscribing to a bunch of things 🙂 How’s your dancing? I haven’t been so good at doing it every day.

Leave a Reply

