the rest of the week

One thing I did on Wednesday (that I didn’t want to ruin my parents’ anniversary post with) was that I went to the dietitian. She didn’t really tell me anything I didn’t know. Reduce my calorie intake, watch the fats I eat, increase my fiber and water intake, reduce my red meat intake, and watch my portions. She did give me a list of foods that are high in fiber, mostly beans, some veggies and fruits. But the best news she gave me is to let me know that the ban on nuts, seeds, and popcorn is off! The most recent research shows it does not lead to increased diverticulitis attacks. Yeah! To celebrate I bought smokehouse almonds! Yum!

That night I made dinner (horseshoes – something easy). The rest of the week was pretty low-key, work, home, dinner. Thursday night I made crunchy parmesan chicken (a favorite around here). I decided not to go to Elevated! I think I can only take that once a month. Friday night, Han had a gig. I stayed home. At the end of the week, I’m usually pooped out. I did make dinner (pork tenderloin).

On Saturday, I was supposed to have dog training but it got postponed. So once I got myself together (and after watching the rest of the Tonight Show episodes from the first week), I went for a walk/hike. I went to Tecolote Canyon which is near my house. I went around 11:30 am, and the day was a bit overcast. The area also boasts a few baseball fields and it was opening day for the Tecolote Little League. My walk/hike lasted close to an hour. It felt good! After that, I helped Han get his ticket to the UK for July and then I went to a movie. I saw “The Monuments Men.” It was okay. It all seemed a bit disjointed and there wasn’t much character development so you didn’t really get to know any of the guys. I would like to read the book it’s based off of, or read more about the operation. What they did was truly amazing. In other movie news, I had popcorn for the first time in about 3 years, and it was glorious! In the evening, I was going to make dinner but the movie got out pretty late and Han had to go listening so he brought me home some Mexican food. After watching what I’d been eating for the past couple days and trying to eat fiber and more healthy food, I can say the Mexican food did not make me feel very good.

Today, I got outside a little earlier, around 9:30 am. This time I went to Marian Bear Memorial Park. Another walk/hike. This one is in the area right next to the 52 freeway. The day was much warmer, and the whole thing was awesome. I was out for about 45 minutes. Right now, I’m feeling the soreness in my legs. It feels good though. The rest of the day was pretty mellow. I got Han & I some lunch, did some laundry, put a shopping list together. Han had a gig so he went to that and I went to the grocery store. When I got back, I made dinner (chicken puttanesca & steamed veggies) and then he got home. We ate and watched “True Detective,” an amazing show on HBO. Now we have the closing ceremonies on, though we lost interest pretty quickly.

Have a great week!

One thought on “the rest of the week

Leave a Reply

