bunny ears, a party, and sunshine

On Friday, I went to Target. It was around 10:30 am. I’d taken the day off work to prep for Han’s party. I was at Target to get some supplies. As usual, the parking lot was crowded (who are these people?) I walked in, got my shopping cart, and began to navigate in the direction of my items.

In the main thoroughfare, I noticed a lot of mothers with their kids. (So that’s who these people are!) But one child in particular caught my attention.

She was probably about four years old. She had on a black top, black and white striped leggings, a tutu with sparkly stars, and bunny ears. And she was hopping. Right there in the middle of the Target aisle, she was jump-hopping like her life depended on it. The bunny ears drifting slightly to the left with each impact.

It struck me. What if she were 10 years older doing that? What if she were 20 years older and doing that? She would probably endure hostile looks and overall negativity.

Why do we allow, and even encourage, such behavior in children (imagination, play, innocence), but shun it in adults? I don’t know why it struck me in such a way, but I haven’t stopped thinking about it.

~~~

The party was really fun. I baked and cooked, ran errands, and got everything wrapped up around 7:58 pm, 2 minutes before the party officially started. Soon, folks began arriving with their potluck goodies and drinks and the party was underway. Between the backyard and the kitchen, folks hung out, drank, laughed (a lot), and celebrated Han’s birthday. It was really awesome. The food was spectacular, and the company more so. Fun!

On Saturday, the weather shifted. It was WARM. I went for a walk then headed to acupuncture and while amazing, I developed a headache that ended up lasting the rest of the day and night.

After acupuncture, I took my car in for an oil change and maintenance. Turned into a $500 visit, but it’s in good shape. (Today-Monday-I called to make an appointment to get the rear bumper fixed). That visit took all afternoon. Han had a gig. By the time I got home around 5:30 pm, I was still undecided if I’d attend. By 6:30 pm, I’d decided. I didn’t go. Instead I watched television, did laundry, and just relaxed. It was good.

Sunday was even more beautiful than Saturday. Absolutely gorgeous. With the time change, I ended up getting up at 9:30 am. Nice! More laundry, making the shopping list. Then Doug Pettibone (who’s played with Lucinda Williams, Ray Lamontagne, and John Mayer to name a few) came to the studio to work on 4 of Han’s projects. We, and one of the clients, all had lunch together in the backyard around 3 pm. It was a nice day with nice people.

I went shopping around 6 pm, then made taco salad. D came over for a couple hours.

Overall, it was a great weekend, full of friends and love and beautiful sunshine.

One Comment Add yours

  1. josefa wann says:

    Sounds very nice 🙂 Glad Jeff had a good birthday!

Leave a Reply

