supremely lazy Saturday & the rest

As the title says, my Saturday was supremely lazy. That was not my intention; I had plans for the day. I started out well. I made breakfast. That’s not one of my usual meals. Biscuits, sausage, scrambled eggs, and potatoes. Breakfast is hard because it’s difficult to get the timing down so everything’s hot and ready at the same time. I didn’t quite get the timing right, but it was all still pretty good. At that was the extent of the work I did, for the most part.

It was one of those days when you only halfway get out of your pajamas. Han had work in the studio, so I watched a couple hours of TV. I played games on my phone, looked at FB. I did fold some laundry and clean up the kitchen (eventually). I watched both NCAA games. Han left for his gig, and I made Swedish meatballs. Mia – they were delicious, but I admit the seasoning and the sauce come from a mix. I know you gave me your recipe, but I’ve never tried it. Plus we don’t have lingonberry preserve. Anyway, they were still good. Instead of the standard egg noodle, I served them over brown rice.

During dinner, I watched more episodes of “The West Wing.” I also had some microwave popcorn. I may have already mentioned but I found a great kind, I think it’s Jiffy Pop, but the serving is one bag and it’s 100 calories. Most of the microwave popcorn have 2 servings per bag. That’s how they get you. Anyway, I melted a little butter and added sriracha to it and poured it over the popcorn. Yum!

Today, I went to get coffee for us, and we watched “Saturday Night Live.” Even though Louis C.K. was the host, who we really like, the show itself was pretty bad, especially Weekend Update. And who the hell is Sam Smith? My god, he was awful. We only heard 2 lines of his first song and that was enough. Yikes. Then, Han went into the studio, and I got started on the shopping list and turned on basketball. Later I went and got us some sandwiches. They were pretty busy, and unfortunately, when I got home, we discovered that Han’s sandwich was wrong. That sucks. He went back in the studio to get ready for the podcast. I caught “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” about 1/2 an hour into it. I had read the book and wanted to see the movie. Man, it’s a tough movie in places. Then, after a few more things at home, and after watching Kentucky beat Michigan (we’ll see how I’m doing in the pool tomorrow – I picked 2 of the Final Four), I went to the grocery store.

Some days, I just can’t deal with the grocery store. I mean, people are oblivious and it gives me a very short fuse. Plus I had to go to two because Fresh and Easy doesn’t have everything. Actually, today was my first time back at F&E in a while. I think I’ll wait another while before going back. It’s gone downhill a bit since it was sold. Even in just the displays of food. I don’t love it as much as I used to. By the time I got home, it was about 6:30 pm. I needed to relax a bit so I went and sat in the backyard for a while. After that, I made dinner. Homemade sloppy joe’s and tater tots. It was pretty good.

I leave for Austin in 3 sleeps.

Today was also Opening Day for baseball! The Padres took on the Dodgers here at Petco Park. I totally forgot to record the game so I didn’t see any of it, but I do know that the Padres won!

Also of note: on Friday night, there was a 5.1 earthquake in La Habra which is not far from where my parents live. They are okay, but they did have some things fall off shelves, and poor Lulu was scared all night. They have since had many, many aftershocks. Eek. I hope the earth takes a break for a while.

One thought on “supremely lazy Saturday & the rest

  1. Glad to hear your Swedish meatballs was good. I didn’t know they had seasoning and sauce in a mix for them 🙂 Don’t you have lingonberry preserve? Do you want me to bring some or don’t you like it. We love it here but it’s a special taste I admit. But it goes so well to the meatballs and I usually serve them with mashed potatoes. Take care and see you soon 🙂
    Love you ❤

Leave a Reply

