4 1/2 weeks and counting, fire, and whatnot

Yes, it’s true. I still have the vasculitis. It’s a pain in my ass. I can see some bits of improvement, but I still ‘break out’ in ‘palpable pupura’ (that’s the red bumpy stuff I mentioned before). Dislike.

I did go up to my parents’ house for Mother’s Day, and we had a nice visit. They let me just recline for two days, and it was awesome. I also had dinner with Heather that Friday before I went up, and it was great to reconnect with her.

Last week was unseasonably hot. On Tuesday, May 13, my office was evacuated around 4:30 pm because there was a fire burning nearby. We watched the news that night, and the firefighters were getting a good handle on it.

That night, I had a poetry feature at Cafe Cabaret. I had prepared a set that spanned my 20 years of reading poetry in public. It was okay, but it was extremely hot, hard to hear (even with the mic), and none of my friends came. There were still people there, in fact, the most that had ever signed up to read in the open (20), but none were there specifically for me, and I was a little disappointed by that. With 20 readers, it was also a long night, and by the time I got home, I was hurting pretty bad. But I’ve come to expect that.

On Wednesday, true terror overtook much of North County, San Diego when there were, at times, 9 wildfires burning. Thankfully, nothing near my work or my home, but some co-workers and friends had to evacuate in San Marcos. These fires were awful, and the conditions (hot with Santa Ana winds blowing) were prime. There was some damage to many homes, and one casualty, but honestly, we got through it very well. All the firefighters were truly amazing! Schools were closed and many people’s lives halted for a few days. By the weekend, they had everything pretty well contained. Plus it cooled off quite a bit which was great.

On Sunday, I had my first open reading at Java Joe’s for Third Sunday Poetry. While the new Java Joe’s is great, and I foresee myself spending time there, but the reading was lackluster. Only 2 people showed up to read. Then there were a couple people who came to hear one of the poets. It was fine, I let it happen organically, informally. One guy, Bart, who has been around as long as I have said that I did it ‘punk rock style.’ That was a nice thing to say. Hopefully, next month will be better.

Yesterday, I wasn’t feeling well so I left work early. After I got home for a bit, I was sick a couple times 😦 I hadn’t been eating much, but I’d been having mochas. Turns out the body doesn’t like it when you only feed it coffee. I had some chicken noodle soup & saltines and was able to keep it down. Today, I’ve felt fine (and I skipped the mocha).

One thought on “4 1/2 weeks and counting, fire, and whatnot

  1. woman doesn’t live by coffee alone. Need to eat some nutritious stuff kid! : (I can say this because I am your mother) 🙂

Leave a Reply

