Maleficent & the weekend

On Saturday, I decided to go to a movie. I chose the ‘wake-up’ showing at 10:45 am. The theater was still packed. I got a single seat in the disabled row. I hadn’t seen many commercials for this movie, but there was a draw for me, mostly because Angelina Jolie looks so stunning. Plus I’ve always had a fascination with the Disney villains, especially the women villains. Maleficent was always one of the scariest to me.

This movie takes the story of Sleeping Beauty, and like “Wicked,” puts a new spin on it. From the beginning, I was totally in. I don’t know why either. Because, for example, with the movie, “Oz the Great and Powerful,” I hated how they stylized Oz, I couldn’t even finish the movie. But this one, I was willing to give it a chance. And I’m glad I did. It’s so well done. The story is good because it’s familiar but the new angle puts everything in new perspective.

My sister saw the movie the same day, and she had a lot of the same feelings as me, it seems. Truly, Angelina was magnificent in this role. Those cheekbones! Those eyes! Her comic timing! Her passion! So good. The more I’ve thought about it, the more I like it!

After the movie, I got sandwiches and went home. Han and his acoustic partner came over and we all had lunch. Then, I watched another movie, “The Way Way Back.” That was a great movie, too!

For dinner, I made meatballs. We have them over brown rice with brown gravy, and I made green beans. Calman came by again, this time with his wife, Becky. They were in the neighborhood having dinner and dropped by to chat a bit. Becky is a nurse so I showed her my leg. She looked appropriately horrified. After they left, Han and I watched a couple episodes of the West Wing (love it!) and went to bed.

Today was my domestic goddess day. I washed all the bedding, plus a few other loads. I started dusting Han’s studio. That’ll take me a while. I cleaned up the kitchen. I also did the lazy things, checked FB, games on the phone, etc. Started to make a shopping list, didn’t get very far. But then, this evening, I went into cooking mode!

I made burrito meat, Spanish rice, refried beans, and guacamole. I also made turkey spaghetti to have for lunch during the week as well as whipped up some tuna salad. Han is gone to see Los Lobos courtesy of a friend of his, so now I’m watching “Love Actually” and considering going to bed.

Happy June!

One thought on “Maleficent & the weekend

  1. I really liked The Way Way Back. I also loved Maleficent and the more I’ve thought about it, the more I’ve liked it! Wish we could have seen it together…

Leave a Reply

