Nutritional Cleanse – Day 1 & start of Day 2

I decided to skip the girls’ weekend in Palm Springs. The vasculitis is still sticking around after 12 weeks, and there are some spots on my legs that would forbid me from getting into a pool. It’s 108 degrees in Palm Springs. The pool is the only respite. Why would I do that to myself? 

So instead, I came up to my parents’ house on Thursday night. The previous evening, I bade farewell to Han at the airport terminal for British Airways as he is off to tour the UK for a couple weeks. I also came up to my folks’ house because the bathroom remodel was to begin on Friday, and I wanted to clear out of there so he could get as much done as he could without interruption. It’s supposed to last almost the whole time Han is gone. I hope it goes well.

Breakfast on day one (Friday) was oatmeal with berries. Oatmeal is not as good without sugar. The berries were good, but the oatmeal was a bit gummy. I think I cooked it a bit too long.

After breakfast, I worked with my mom on a list and planned what I would eat the next few days. Then I went to the store with my dad. The food I can eat is not bad. It’s just not what I’m used to. I’m determined to make this work.

For lunch, I had a generous scoop of roasted red pepper hummus, some nut/rice crackers, some cherry tomatoes, and some avocado slices. It was quite yummy and surprisingly satisfying. I should note that this cleanse is not meant for weight loss necessarily. The information I have on it also indicates that of the foods I’m allowed to eat, there are no calorie restrictions; I can eat as much as I want of them!

After lunch, I read a bit and dozed a bit. I lay down for a while, then I watched some TV. I also checked FB a little obsessively to see how the overseas adventures were going (Barbara is also over there to tour with her band – they’re in Austria). For a snack, I had some pistachios.

For dinner, Mom made a simple chicken stir fry. I say simple just because there was no sauce or anything, just chicken, broccoli, red bell pepper, onion, carrots, garlic, ginger, water chestnuts, and cashews. It was served over white rice. I thought it was really yummy despite the lack of a sauce. 

Throughout the day, I also drank a bunch of water. The plan says to drink 64 oz a day, but my acupuncturist had doubled that to 128 oz a day (!). 

Earlier in the day, Mom had roasted some walnuts, pecans, and almonds. The pecans burned a bit, but the walnuts and almonds were good, but a little boring. She put them in a plastic bag, added some olive oil, cayenne, rosemary, and a packet of Stevia then shook them together. That made them better. That little hint of sweetness from the Stevia made a difference, too.

So that was day 1. Not terrible. In fact, it was quite fine.

But today is day 2. The day I start the concoction. I had high hopes. I got out the blender, the unsweetened almond milk, the mango, the ice. I opened the powder (Metagenics UltraClear). It says it’s vanilla flavored, but I’ve never smelled vanilla like that. 

I poured the ingredients for my ‘smoothie’ into the blender and hit ‘ice crush.’ I poured it into a glass and took a sip. Yikes. I’m not sure if it was the combination of flavors I used or if it was just that the powder has an overwhelming essence, but this first ‘scoop’ was not good at all. 

I quickly made my cereal (rice krispies w/ almond milk and strawberries) and sat down and began typing this blog post. I’ve just finished the smoothie. Or I should say I was able to get it down. Halfway through, I got up and got a big glass of water. I think if I’m able to chase every sip of the concoction with water, I should be able to do it. My goodness, it was not yummy. And that was just one scoop. Days 5-7 I have to do 2 scoops 4 times a day! I’m not sure how that’s going to go. But I can’t think of it like that. I have to think of the metabolic detoxification it’s doing on my insides that will hopefully present itself on the outside with cleared up skin and no more vasculitis.

By the way, I went to the dermatologist last Tuesday. They did a second biopsy and suggested I take the oral steroids. I said I wanted to do this cleanse thing first. My derm was skeptical but agreed. We’ll see what happens. 

 

Leave a Reply

