what happened in September & hello, October

Let’s see if I even remember. 🙂 But first, a kind and welcome hello to October, this poet’s favorite month.

I’ll start where I left off in late August. On the 26th, I went to my dermatologist who proclaimed the vasculitis to be over. The skin discoloration, she said, would fade over time. My mom gave me a formula to mix to apply of shea butter and lemon. No, Mom, I still haven’t done it.

That same day, but in the evening, I went to my friend, Barbarella’s book release and signing. She is the sister of one of my best friends, Heather. It was a fun evening to hang with all the sisters, 4 in total, and their mom, plus many of her fans. She writes a weekly column in the San Diego Reader, and the book is a compilation of some of the articles from the past 10 years. They’re categorized into different sections, and one of the great features is that her husband, David, also adds his commentary. He is very often a player in her articles, so it was awesome to read the inside story. I read the book in about 3 days then gave it to my mom. She’s getting rave reviews on Amazon, and they are well-deserved. I’ve got to write mine!

The end of August also saw Han & I putting the finishing touches on the garage room. We painted the room, but that involved a lot of ladder work (tall ceiling). Then on Sept 1, D moved back in with us full-time. It’s been good. She is very independent. She has her own entrance (back door) and she has her own car. She’s either in her room or at church or with friends. She even buys her own groceries and cooks her own meals, though she’s eaten with us a couple times. She will graduate from high school at the end of the year, and she’s trying to find a job to help with her expenses. It’s all good.

Starting on Sept 2, I did round 2 of my nutritional cleanse in an effort to get rid of any residual steroid gunk in my system and just to help make sure the vasculitis stays away as much as I can. It was so much easier the 2nd time. I did cheat just a touch, having cheese on a couple things, but for the most part, I stuck with it.

The first weekend of September, I drove up to LM to hang with the folks. It was a good visit.

On Tuesday, 9/9, I went to the Cafe Cabaret reading, and it was great. That next weekend, I went back up to LM because the bathtub was finally going to get reglazed and the rest of the bathroom finished (door sanded, repainted, and rehung so it closes right and the walls repainted). The visit in LM was another good one. When I got home, I realized that the bathroom was as done as it’s going to be. The tub was reglazed, It’s now white so everything matches. The door was fixed so it closes, but that’s it. The walls got a touch-up, but weren’t repainted. Sigh.

On Sept 15, my aunt Mia celebrated her 60th birthday. Her family had thrown a big party for her over the weekend in Sweden. I’m glad she was able to celebrate in style.

During all of this, I should mention that it was extremely hot in San Diego. This happens every year. People plan vacations to San Diego in June or July. But it’s August and September that are hot and beautiful times to be here. In fact, on Tuesday, 9/16, I went to Rebecca’s coffeehouse for the open reading, but it was cancelled. The host was stuck in traffic, but it was so amazingly hot in the coffeehouse, I don’t know that I would have stayed anyway.

On Thursday, 9/18, I went for my follow-up diagnostic exam on my left breast. Thankfully, they didn’t see anything of concern! I was so relieved. I had been sitting in the waiting area with 2 lovely women. When the doctor came out to see everything looked fine, they both said how happy they were for me. I didn’t realize how worried I had been until they expressed their happiness for me.

That night, I went to Elevated! open reading. It was good. On Saturday, I had acupuncture for the first time since mid-July. The reason for the break is that my acupuncturist had a baby! I’m happy for her. Everybody’s doing well. Boy, I had missed acupuncture.

Another thing I should mention that was pretty much a constant through the month was that I had several bouts of depression. Work is very stressful. It’s just me and my one employee. I am regularly working 10, 11, or 12-hour days. As I had texted my mom and sister: Very stressed. Short-tempered. Prone to crying. But all of it prompted me to do something I’ve never done: I asked for a raise. I knew my boss was working on the budget for next year, and at the urging of a work friend, I did it. I am so terrible at shit like that. I had a list of stuff I’ve done over the 4 years since I’ve gotten a significant increase (there are annual increases based on performance), but as I was trying to make my case, I cried. I hate that! But my boss is so nice. He said he appreciated that I could be so emotional and said he hasn’t cried in 10 years! I’ve cried 10 years’ worth in September alone, it feels like. Anyway, I asked for a big raise. It’s not approved, but my boss did put it into the budget. With the three people I lost, there was actually enough to propose my raise, plus another salary to hire a new employee, plus keep the one I have. I have no idea if it will go through, but I asked, and that’s all I can do. He didn’t balk at it or say he didn’t think I deserved it. He’s a good guy.

On Sunday, 9/21, I went to Java Joe’s for my Third Sunday Poetry reading. One person showed up. I waited 15 minutes, then I left. I was so bummed. I was having a bad day that day anyway, and that didn’t help. I’ll do it through the end of the  year, but if it doesn’t pick up, I’ll have to talk with Joe to see if it’s worth keeping up.

I had a day last week that seemed normal, even good. Han & I got Chinese food, watched Breaking Bad, went for a drive. Somewhere along the way, I just went into a funk. I can’t even explain it. I just started crying. And I couldn’t stop. I wasn’t upset about anything in particular, I wasn’t angry, or sad. I just cried. That’s weird. Or something.

On Saturday, 9/27, I did some volunteering for my work. It was a community relations event, and we beautified a park area in San Diego. I did some painting. It was a nice way to spend the morning.

On Sunday, I was on the verge of another funk. To try to beat it, I went to a movie. I saw “The Skeleton Twins.” I had never heard of it, but it has Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader. It was a great movie. It might be seen as depressing by some, but I could relate to many of the points it touched on. It’s mostly a drama, but there are a couple scenes where the two SNL alums just go crazy, and it’s hilarious. It also has Luke Wilson. I really liked it.

Yesterday, my mom sent some great news. N has been told by his neurosurgeon that he’s okay! When I was up in LM, Mom had said that her recent conversations with him had been a lot better and that he seemed more like himself. It’s truly amazing. This man has now beaten leukemia and a TBI. He should play the lottery.

Coming up this month: Han has a lot of stuff going on. He’s going up to Northern CA twice, for gigs and a conference. He’s got a CD release show in Poway with the group he went to England with over the summer. And there’s the San Diego Music Awards. He’s not nominated personally, but a few of the records he produced are up for awards. As for me, my TX friend, Barbara will be in town this weekend so I’ll get to see her for a bit. I’ll get an oil change for my car, have acupuncture, I’ll go to some readings. Plus, it’s October which is just good all around. Janis Joplin’s death anniversary (44 years), Halloween, and other ghostly things. Maybe I’ll take the Whaley House tour! Hopefully, there will be no crying jags.

One thing I’m not looking forward to is that my one employee is going on vacation for 3 weeks at the end of October. I have no idea how I’m going to handle the workload, but I’ll have to figure it out.

I have been and will continue to volunteer with the kitties. It’s one place where I completely forget about work and other stuff. Those sweet purring machines are good for my soul.

As it’s October, and I love it so, I will strive to write more frequently this month. We’ll see how it goes!

And one last thing, go Giants!

 

One thought on “what happened in September & hello, October

Leave a Reply

