Giants and ghosts

Yesterday was fun!

On the way home from work, I stopped at the new Boudin SF for a sandwich and salad for dinner. I also stopped at the nearby Baskin-Robbins for some ice cream. I came home, ate, then worked while I watched Game 5 of the NLCS.

What a game!

Giants were down 2-3 in the bottom of the eighth inning when Michael Morse, who had been brought up for the 25-man roster for this series, hit a pinch-hit homerun to tie it up 3-3. It was so amazing.

Then, Panda (Pablo Sandoval) got a single, and Belt drew a walk. Up comes Travis Ishikawa who started off with two balls from the Cardinal’s Wacha, when, on a 2-0 pitch, he connects, and that ball is GONE! WALK-OFF 3-RUN HOMER to send the Giants to their 3rd World Series in 5 years. Oh my goodness. It was unbelievable and so very awesome!!

The game ended just in time for me to leave for my nighttime adventure. I made my way to Old Town to meet up with my friend, Mindy, and tour the Whaley House, one of America’s most haunted houses. And we’re talking actually haunted, not some fake carnival tourist trap. I believe in ghosts. I watch ghost shows, and as I’ve been thinking about new things, I thought about stuff I really wanted to do or try. Mindy loves scary movies and stuff like that, so I figured she’d be down. And she was. I’d never been there and neither had she. We were excited!

We met up about half an hour before the tour so we had a chance to catch up. She told me about her trip to Thailand and Cambodia in August. It sounded amazing. Then it was time to start the tour. We did the last tour of the night, it started a little after 9:30 pm. We had a pretty big group, which, unfortunately, included some college age kids who just wanted to be scared and scare their friends. They were loud and obnoxious. It was hard to get in the moment. But the docent we had, Janice, was nice. She talked about the history of the house and the Whaley family, which was certainly interesting, sometimes eerie, but very cool. She also would add anecdotes about experiences that she, other docents, or guests have had in the house. That’s what got the most interest from the group, as loud as they were. But I’ll tell you this. The docents encourage photography, flash or not. You just can’t do video or audio recordings.

So I had my iPhone out, and it was strangely not working well. I hit the flash, and it would suddenly switch to no flash. That happened often, and it was weird. So I was just taking photos from all of the settings: auto, flash (if needed), and no flash. Plus, often, when I took a photo, the screen would flash pink or orange and the resulting shot would be very hazy, like I’d taken it through a wedding veil or something. Not all of the pictures were like that, but a good majority of them are. Since I couldn’t figure out what setting I was getting the best pictures from, I can’t tell if it was the energy of the place or just my phone camera going bad. I like to think it was the former.

Anyway, I’ll share just 2 of my photos. We were in the kitchen/dining room area, and I was right next to the kitchen. Here’s the first shot I took:

photo 1 - ktichen (you’ll see someone else’s phone in the shot as well)

After I took the shot above, I turned back in to the room and took a couple shots of the dining room table. Then I turned back around, and here’s the shot I got:

photo 2 - ktichen

If you watch any ghost shows like I do, they’ll tell you that those weird orbs are bits of energy that the spirits give off or move in. That shot might not be weird, but I took three more that were similar (and I made sure my finger wasn’t on the lens, and I cleaned the lens). Then I took a shot of the other side of the room, nothing unusual (except the haziness), then turned back toward the table, and it was just hazy. No orbs. Who knows?

From the dining room (which had followed the courthouse room and the general store), we went upstairs to the theater and then we were able to look into the bedrooms. Then it was back downstairs to another bedroom and the parlor room. And that was it! The theater is interesting. It’s the first commercial theater in San Diego. I had read that this month only, they’re showing silent horror films from the 1920s every Wednesday. After the tour, she talked to a docent who said that next week is their last one and that not very many people were there (only 6). The cool thing is that the museum is closed on Wednesday so the movie group is the only group in the place and you get the tour of the house after the movie. We decided we wanted to do that next week! It might be cooler, especially without the loudmouths. Anyway, there was another girl on the tour, and she was taking a ton of shots. Mindy had a look at them and told me I needed to see them. She took one shot in the theater. It was of the wall. You can see the light’s reflection on the wall, but then there’s this other light anomaly. The walls are green, and this spot was blueish, and when she zoomed in, I could definitely make out a face. It was so wild!

After the tour, we walked down the street to the El Campo Santo Cemetery which is where “Yankee” Jim was buried. He was the man who was hanged on the property where the Whaley House now stands and is said to be one of the spirits that haunts the house.

It was a fun time, and I look forward to going back on Wednesday!

After we said our farewells, I came home and worked some more 😦 then I went to bed.

The World Series starts on Tuesday so the whole weekend is open. Tomorrow, I’m doing acupuncture then a bunch of errands, then maybe I’ll get a movie or something.

Enjoy your weekend!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mama says:

    A very Halloweenish day!!! I’m soit of scared of ghosts and stuff, just in case they’re real 🙂

  2. Sandy says:

    That’s cool! Is the Whaley house open for tours year-round or just in October? I might like to check that out sometime.

Leave a Reply

