sinus headaches and an evening out

All day I’ve been battling a topsy-turvy sinus headache. It’ll come on strong then subside a little bit. I took some Advil Cold & Sinus which usually works really well for me, but now as I’m getting ready for bed, I feel it coming back again. At least I’ll be going to bed. I should be able to get to sleep before it feels too bad.

After a long day at work, where it feels like everyone is picking up the pieces from Monday’s downturn, I went by the store, then came home and made a quick dinner. Here’s what it was: I got a rotisserie chicken and picked the meat from the bones. I sauteed garlic, red bell peppers, and red onions for a bit, added the chicken, added cumin and chili powder. Boom – cheap chicken fajitas. Opened up a can of black beans, boom – side dish. Tortillas, cheese, avocado. That’s a fast, yummy meal.

Then I spent a little bit of time trying to choose a poem for this year’s holiday recording. I’ve narrowed it down. I alternate between an original piece and a ‘cover.’ This year it’s a cover. Not sure if I should go traditional or a little off-beat.

After that, I headed down to Queen Bee’s for Elevated! It was their 9-year anniversary, and the place was packed! They were having different hosts throughout the evening. It was freaking hot in that place. I listened to a few pieces, but then I went outside to talk to my friend, Ant (Anthony). He’s a great guy who I’ve known for a few years. I met his wife and their daughter. We chatted for a while. I didn’t really have a desire to go back in. While I have met some great people by coming back around into the poetry scene, it’s not really my thing anymore. And that’s sad to me. When I get into these little funks, it’s hard to shake them off (how many of you started singing that blasted Taylor Swift song in your head?)

I think it’s best for me to go to bed. Work again tomorrow, but it’s Friday, and that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

