back to work, increase, and ease

It was back to a regular work week for many Americans. You sure could tell on the highways! It was crowded!

At work, a co-worker starts off every new year by making breakfast for the whole crew. He calls it a 49’er omelet. It’s basically eggs, sausage, and mushrooms. The rest of us brought sides and other stuff like bagels and donuts. It was a nice way to start off what promises to be a very busy, yet kind of exciting year.

I headed up to the kitties in the afternoon. Not many now as the humans, as I mentioned, are back in their regular routine. I did walk a couple dogs from the same house, Annie & Diana. Not very affectionate, but nice enough. They had matching shirts.

When I got home, there was a letter from our landlord that he’s increasing our rent another $100 starting February 1st. That dude, I can’t believe him. What an ass.

Still, this ‘ease’ business is still working for me (alright, two whole days!) When I start feeling stress or anger, I just say the word in my head, and just try to take it all in stride.

For dinner tonight, it was kind of a do-it-yourself thing (though it doesn’t have to be). Again, Pioneer Woman. I put out the fixin’s for two things: pesto, tomato, and mozzarella sandwiches (I’m the only one who made a sandwich -yum!) and chicken & strawberry salad. I had marinated chicken tenders in balsamic dressing then sauteed them and cut them into bite size pieces. Then you have salad, strawberries (quartered), nuts (I used almonds), goat cheese, and the balsamic for dressing (or any other kind they wanted). Again, I just put everything in bowls and had them make their own salad – you never know who doesn’t want nuts or the what their right amount of dressing is. And finally, a quick round of frozen tater tots. It was a tasty, easy, and satisfying dinner.

I’ve been taking time after dinner to clean up the kitchen really good on account of the ants. We haven’t had any in the last day or so, or it’s just one lone ant that I quickly kill. Although it’s kind of a drag, I’ve found since I started this habit a few days ago, that it’s kind of relaxing. I ease my way through it (see, there it is again!) Plus I run the dishwasher at night before we go to sleep, and the kitchen is nice & clean in the morning. That’s a better way to start the day.

Tomorrow is the day of Epiphany. I remember one winter back in Idaho when my sister, my mom, and I stayed up to try to see Los Reyes Magos. We’d put out some food for them (don’t remember what), but we also put out some Corn Flakes for the camels. I was certain I’d be able to stay up, but I couldn’t and when I woke up, sure enough the Corn Flakes had been munched and there were gifts for me and my sister. It’s a gift-giving holiday in Spain, and it’s something my mom has continued into our adult years. I can’t wait to open my envelope tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “back to work, increase, and ease

  1. I can’t stand to have dirty dishes in the sink in the morning. I try to clean up the kitchen every night too. So much nicer in the morning! Dinner sounds good 🙂

Leave a Reply

