already behind at work

For the past 6-7 months, I’ve regularly been working 10 hour days, sometimes more, very rarely less. Since December 2013, all the employees I had (4) have left. Three of them for new opportunities and the other because his wife got a fantastic job in Minnesota so they moved.

The last employee gave his notice on December 15 and his last day was the 23rd. Then it was the holidays, it was slow, no one was that anxious to get much done. Well, this week, everyone’s back, and they all need something. I’ve been doing my best to keep up, but I realized today that I was already behind, not even a week in.

It’s all okay. I’m not curing cancer. I know I have to keep perspective, but it’s tough. The thing that really makes it difficult to stay on top of things is meetings. I have a ton of ’em, today alone I had 6. It makes it more difficult to focus on high-level strategy or even looking something over quickly.

Again, I’m not complaining. I’m happy to have my job, and I like all the people I work with. But one thing I’d like to do this year is really kick ass at my job, and so far, it’s been a bit lackluster – but not for lack of trying. I’m also trying to hire someone so hopefully I can find just the right person, and we’ll make a great team!

~~

My sleep issues continued last night. I was in the living room until about 2 am when I felt that I could breathe through my nose. I was able to sleep for a little over three hours, then I got up and showered and was out the door by 6:30 am.

~~

I still need to do my unraveling for 2014 and looking ahead at this year. But I’ll give you some quick things I’d like to try to do this year:

– start playing tennis regularly
– more beach time
– read more
– see more movies

You’ll see that those last three are just things I want more of in my life. There’s one other thing, but I need to look into it a little further before I reveal it.

~~

Tomorrow, I’m heading up to see my folks which will be nice. Better go pack!

Leave a Reply

