San Diego Adventure Day #3

After a very long 4-day work week, I took Friday off for my monthly San Diego Adventure Day. This time, the choice (again random – drawn out of a cup with all my choices) was Mt. Helix. I had heard about it for a while, but had never found my way there. That’s exactly what this is all about!

Mt. Helix is in between La Mesa and El Cajon. I made my way out there around noon. It was a beautiful day, warm. There was some construction on the road that I thought would deter me, but there was a detour through a part of the neighborhood. The homes on the way up were stunning. Finally, I ascended and went around a curve and there was a small parking lot, and I was there! In this age of development and progress, it was awesome to see this area, safe under a trust that it won’t be developed. The main part of Mt. Helix is the amphitheater that was constructed in 1925.

But before I looked at that much, I walked up a paved road to the top of the mountain. Around the perimeter of the mountain are views of San Diego that are truly spectacular. At the very top is a cross, dedicated to the memory of Mary Carpenter Yawkey:

Mary Carpenter Yawkey memorial
Mary Carpenter Yawkey memorial

This seems like the right time to mention that there were also a ton of butterflies everywhere. I thought if I held my hand out, one would land on me. At the top by the cross, you’re also at the top of the amphitheater:

Mt. Helix nature theatre
Mt. Helix nature theatre

There were a few other people up there. One woman walking her dog. A young lady on her lunch break. A couple on a romantic date. A couple guys hanging out at one of the picnic tables. Still, it was pretty quiet, and I was able to be by myself for the most part. I made my way down the steps of the theater. The park has hosted an Easter sunrise service there every year since 1925. It’s also available for weddings and private groups. I think they have done concerts, but not very frequently (though it would be amazing). Here’s a view from the stage:

view from the stage
view from the stage
another view from the bottom
another view from the bottom

Around the right side was the Yawkey Trail. It was not long or very difficult, but there were signs that showed landmarks in the distance (mountain peaks, towns) so you could figure out where you were. It was awesome. Here are some more pics:

looking west
looking west
looking southeast
looking southeast
looking south
looking south

That was pretty much it. There’s just the theater and the trail, and of course the views. I spent some time just sitting and looking, enjoying the sunshine. This last photo is right at the edge of the parking lot:

marker
marker

I’m so glad I went up there. It’s truly stunning.

The rest of the day was pretty lazy. I think I worked just a little bit. Han went out, and I went to bed. On Saturday, I went to acupuncture, and it was a miracle. Boy, I really like it. After that, I met my friend, Lindsay, at a cafe to do some writing. I ended up working for a couple hours. Then I went home and went with Han to the hospital to visit his cousin. I wasn’t able to go in the room, but his cousin isn’t doing very well. He has nearly killed himself from drinking. He has cirrhosis and is in need of a liver transplant. He’s probably in his early 30s. However, he has to be in rehab for 6 months before he can be put on the transplant list, and even then, it’s a long list. It’s terribly sad. He needs to get well enough to even get to rehab and it’s really a day by day thing. After Han saw him, we chatted for a bit with his aunt and one of his other cousins who lives in Chico. It was good to see her and her mom. It was draining for Han, as you can imagine. We came home, and I made dinner. It was good: mini cheesy meat loaves, mashed potatoes, and carrots & brown beech mushrooms with sage. Super good.

Today, I went grocery shopping, did some laundry (having a working dryer can not be underestimated!), watched TV, and I cooked a couple things that we can have around for lunches for the week: a mac & cheese w/ beef, zucchini, red bell pepper and green onions, and a garlic chicken rice thing. Han has been working all day. I thought I would work today, but every fiber of my body resisted it. I really need to get better at balancing. I’m officially out of my bracket at work with Gonzaga’s loss today; I had them winning it all. And how about Michigan State? Wow! They took out Louisville which was another of my picks. Oh well, still fun to watch!

Have a fun week!

One Comment Add yours

  1. mama says:

    Love to read about your adventure days, so fun 🙂 besos

Leave a Reply

