Maundy Thursday

I don’t know how in my 43 years, I’ve never heard this term, ‘maundy.’ Or realized that it’s the day of the Last Supper. I’m not too religious as you may have guessed.

Today, two great men died. One I knew, the other I knew of. The latter first: Doug Sax. He owned a business called The Mastering Lab in Hollywood in the 90s, and it is where our friend, Gavin Lurssen, got his start as a mastering technician. Han used to go work with Gavin when he was still at The Mastering Lab, so I’m pretty sure he had met Doug. Gavin has since started his own business, Lurssen Mastering, but he considers Doug Sax his mentor. It’s a sad loss for the music world.

And it is also a sad loss for poets. My friend, Steve Kowit, passed. I met Steve back in the mid-90s when I was getting myself into the San Diego poetry scene. He has many collections of poetry, and he also put out a ‘how-to’ book of sorts called, “In the Palm of Your Hand.” He was always very nice to me, very gracious. I know many, many people who took his workshops and who consider him a mentor. I didn’t ever take advantage of being a student of his, but I enjoyed his work when I heard or read it. I last saw him read at Cafe Cabaret last year. I remember thinking that it felt like he was putting on a master class of craftsmanship, performance, and vitality. He was awesome. I’m so glad I got to see him read one last time. May he rest in peace, and may his wife, Mary, stay strong. Here’s one of his classics:

I-Attend-a-Poetry-Reading

I worked on the poem I posted here yesterday a bit and sent it as the poem of the day at work. I also posted it on Facebook. I probably will do the same with this one. These are works in progress.

~~

Maundy Thursday

my feet are dirty
my table is bare
my friends are loyal

sacrifice is such a loose term now
same with love, betrayal, service

on this first of several holy days
I am drawn to the story
of the Last Supper
how Jesus brought his disciples together
told them to love one another
told them to eat the bread, drink the wine
washed their feet to defy social class
told them how one would betray him

it’s a great story
it’s easy to see why so many still follow
the lessons of it
I kind of wish more people would

it really can be this simple:
love
eat
drink
help others
forgive

Leave a Reply

