super productive

I had a good day at work. I was super productive AND I made it through the 3 pm slump when I thought I would go get myself a little chocolate treat. Instead, I took some envelopes out to the post office box outside so I could have a little stroll. Totally worked. It’s like I was telling my sister. It’s now kind of a don’t-break-the-streak kind of thing but I’ll be okay when I do break it. But I was proud of myself that I didn’t give in today. I’ve also noticed that I don’t feel so achy when I get up from my desk or out of bed in the morning. Things are going well.

The Blue Apron box showed up about 20 minutes ago. Han is with a client, but I’ll get one of the meals started here pretty soon. There are 3 meals total, each enough for 2 people. I’ll tell you tomorrow how this one came out!

And before I go, I have to give yet another shout-out to my dad who is 75 today. Man! I was so happy and privileged to celebrate with him over the weekend, along with my mom, sister, and nephew. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DAD!

today’s draft

A Look Back

When my dad turned 70
the family met up in Las Vegas
to celebrate
the highlight was all of us
seeing the Tournament of Kings show at Excalibur

the next year,
he told us
he was sick

for his 71st birthday
he was administering
his own peritoneal dialysis
at home
Mom retired that year
and became caregiver

the next year was the hardest
with a surgery that nearly killed him
and an extended stay
in the hospital to start, but he
celebrated #72 at home
we gave him an iPod
to listen to while he went to dialysis

when #73 rolled around
he was so much better
still in dialysis of course
but driving, cooking,
getting around well
his brother and sisters were there
to celebrate with him

last year, another celebration
with family from Sweden
and sister and nephew
I was afflicted with my own health issues
but nothing could stop me
from being there with him

and now here we are
still kicking, ever grateful

Leave a Reply

