birthday eve

When I got to work this morning, my co-workers had decorated the door to my office:

IMG_1897

The purple paper made it dark and ominous-looking, but cool nonetheless. I didn’t take it down. That’s what will happen on Friday (if the cleaning people don’t take it down first). It was a nice thing for them to do.

My friend bought me coffee, and then around 3 pm, one guy came into my office and shut the door saying he needed to vent. Then my boss knocked on the door, followed by another person, and another, until I think nearly everyone in my department was jammed into my office. I think someone counted that there were 19 people in there. It was funny and different. Usually, we fake a meeting somewhere or ask someone to go into the kitchen randomly. They sang and then we did move into the kitchen to feast on a cinnamon swirl bundt cake from Nothing Bundt Cakes. Delicious. There was even some left over so I got to bring it home.

After work, I went to yet another happy hour for someone who was leaving the company (not necessarily of her own choosing).  Didn’t stay long but wanted to wish her well.

Got home and chatted with Han for a bit. Had dinner and watched some TV and some movie trailers (A Very Murray Christmas, 2oolander, and the new Star Wars – all that we could find).

Tomorrow will be for sleeping in, going on a walk, and thinking about another orbit for me.

 

2 thoughts on “birthday eve

  1. I like that all your co-workers jammed themselves into your office. That’s cute. And cinnamon bundt cake? Come on! That’s awesome!!

Leave a Reply

