44

Who knows numerology? It seems like 44 should be a good number, right?

I’m 44 today.

I slept nearly 10 hours last night. That was delightful.

Around 11 am, I left the house to go for a walk exploring the footbridges of San Diego. I found this route and thought it might be fun. But I didn’t want to start in Balboa Park, so I decided instead to go to Vermont St. From there, my first stop was Starbucks. There was one right across the Vermont St bridge so I set off.

This bridge was my favorite because of all the poetry on. This bit of verse by Audre Lorde was at the entry:

And here’s the bridge itself:

Vermont St

All along the railings were more bits of verse and phrases and etched in the concrete of the bridge on the edges were the various definitions for ‘bridge.’ It was so cool. It goes over a freeway so there weren’t any other good photo ops.

Across the bridge, I went to Starbucks for my free birthday drink and really took a look at the map. I was trying to figure out if I wanted to do the whole walk. It seemed very long. I decided to do the ones around that area, then drive over to 1st Ave and do those.

I went back to my car and just drove over the one on Georgia which was fine because it was not very nice as far as bridges go. Then I went down to 1st Ave. I parked in a neighborhood on Front St and started walking. It wasn’t long before I was at Spruce St.

Spruce St dedication

This bridge is super cool. There were people on it, but there was still time for me to take a couple shots.

At one point, a runner went across, and that thing was moving! I walked to the other side and decided to walk around the neighborhood. It was a super nice day, and the houses over there are beautiful. I happened upon this lovely little free library:

free library

Does anyone else have these in their towns/cities? I’ve seen a few around, and I love the idea!

I also saw this plaque on a house that I thought was funny (I also think it’s not true because the house it was on looked really old and really fabulous):

nothing

I walked back across Spruce St after ambling for a bit and made my way to 1st Ave. I walked across the bridge on that street, but it was trafficky and not very scenic so not photo-worthy. But then I walked up and turned on Quince St to walk across that bridge:

Quince St

On the other side, I was on 4th Avenue so I made my way back to Upas, turned left and went down to Front to where my car was parked. It was a great walk on an absolutely gorgeous day.

After that, it was around 2 pm, and I wasn’t sure what to do. I decided to go to a movie. I saw “The Martian,” and it’s as good as people say it is. The bummer thing was that I missed the first 15 minutes because it was at a theater I’d never been to before. It’s in a mall, and there was construction. Anyway, I know what I missed, but I still would have liked to see it 😦

After the movie, I realized I hadn’t thought it all through because it was around 5 pm, and not everyone had taken the day off! Traffic was terrible. I managed to find a route that at least kept me moving, but I still didn’t get home until 6:30(!) At which point Han left to go get us some dinner (one of my favorites, El Zarape).

While he was gone, I took a shower, then I called my folks. I got a lot of nice messages, texts, and posts on FB. That was all really nice.

When he got back, we settled in and watched one of our favorite movies, “Elf.” So cute, and a start to the holiday spirit.

Not a bad birthday. Only bits of melancholy sprinkled here and there. 🙂

My friend, Cathryn, played one of my poems on her radio show today. It starts just before 1:01 (hour and 1 minute).

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. mama says:

    It seems like you had a very pleasant, birthday. I love the bridges!

Leave a Reply

